Rain in the garden - A French Meander: seeking Bordeaux - CycleBlaze

June 6, 2018

Rain in the garden

To La Roche sur Yon

The Garden of France, as the Loire valley is sometimes called, is a beautiful place to ride. But it's called the garden for a reason and that is that things really grow well here. And they grow well because it rains a lot. In the many trips I have made to the valley, I have yet to have one that is free from rain. So it was no surprise that when I woke up this morning it was wet and drizzle was falling. I went to have breakfast which for me is usually coffee and croissants and pondered my options. At the end of my pondering it had stopped raining, at least for a while, so I decided to ride and see what the day might bring. 

Grey.
Heart 1 Comment 1
Ron SuchanekLooks like Oregon in winter.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago

The surface of the bike train is mostly packed sand, and the bike was soon covered in fine grit. I really hate this as it chews up the components, but that's touring I guess. Anyway, I met a few more intrepid souls on the ride, mostly on e-bikes. One couple though stopped to chat while I was photographing the river. They were headed to Orleans and gave a little advice on the route 

The old bridge at Beaugency is one of the few that wasn't destroyed in the last war. Only a couple of the arches needed rebuilding.
Heart 3 Comment 0

Continuing on my way, a heavy mist began to make itself felt. Not enough to cause me to need a rain jacket, but enough so that the path was free from other users.

Except for guys like this. This one is hurrying to get out of my way.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Further on the path splits. Most folks take the left bank route because it goes to Chambord. I've seen the castle several times, but I've never been on the right bank route to Blois, so that is where I decided to go.

I'm glad I did because I got to see this. The abbey of St. Radegond.
Heart 1 Comment 1
Steve Miller/GrampiesReally love all the roses growing all over France.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago

A short while later I was in Blois and the rain restarted in earnest. I rode up the hill,to the train station and found one leaving in a few minutes for Tours. In Tours I caught a local for La Roche sur Yon, where I got a room in the Hotel de la Gare for the night.

Today's ride: 47 km (29 miles)
Total: 85 km (53 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0