Into the pines - A French Meander: seeking Bordeaux - CycleBlaze

June 15, 2018

Into the pines

Today did not start out in a promising way. One look out the window this morning was enough to make think about prolonging my stay in Arcachon. The rain wasn't hard, but it was there and the weather report when I switched it on was for more of the same all day. So I wasn't rushing things when I went to breakfast. Two cups of coffee later and wonder of wonders the rain had stopped. I decided I would risk riding. I do travel with rain gear after all. So I got packed and was soon on my way.

The EV1 route leaves Arcachon for the south on a paved bike path that is really well marked. It enters the dune country at the edge of the city and the hills begin on the trail as well. They are not too long, but some of them have grades up to ten percent and with my fully loaded bike they were tiring. Fortunately the bulk of the up and down was done for me before noon. I stopped in Biscarosse Plage for a salad with sliced duck, bacon pieces, and giblets and kept on toward Mimizan. In Parentis en Born I thought briefly of calling it a day, but it had only just gone 2:30, and the distance to Mimizan was only 29 km, so I just kept cranking. The trail runs along side the road for all but a very short stretch.

I couldn't resist this house I saw riding out of Arcachon
Heart 1 Comment 0
And a last look at the bay of Arcachon
Heart 0 Comment 0
Most of the dunes are covered with pines. The Dune de Pilât is not, and it is also moving inland slowly.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Ouch!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Parentis en Born. (Forgive the foggy image)
Heart 1 Comment 1
Steve Miller/GrampiesHey, you can only work with what you got.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago

The town of Mimizan was something of a let down. I found two hotels in town and chose the Hotel du Centre. After showering, I tried to go for a stroll about town, but the rain came back so I returned to the hotel to work on the journal and wait for dinner. 

Today's ride: 90 km (56 miles)
Total: 690 km (428 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0