A+ Day - Adventure Some - CycleBlaze

A+ Day

Today was lovely.  Not too hot.  Not too cold.  Nice roads.  Sun, but not too much sun, and so forth.

I dragged myself out of bed and to the hotel breakfast, which didn't exist actually, but instead they gave me a coupon for $5 off at a great little diner down the street.  I prefer that actually.  Most hotel breakfasts are pretty bad, at least at the hotels I tend to stay in on a bike trip.

So anyway I meandered over the the diner and got an awesome breakfast of what has officially become my favorite touring breakfast, at least in America--French Toast, Eggs, bacon and coffee.  The breakfast of champions for sure and one that can only be enjoyed when you ride a bike for 8 hours because if I didn't the bike would eventually collapse from the weight of all of those calories.

But I'm getting off topic...

The ride was great.  I rolled out of Paso Robles feeling fine.  The road to the coast has some traffic but also a humongously wide shoulder that could have been turned into a second lane.  I had a head wind but didn't even care.

From there I took a short cut on a wonderful back road that put me on the coast at Cayucos and a short ride to Morro Bay marina where they had a little fish and chips stand and where I had just about the best fish tacos I ever had, and I have had a LOT of fish tacos in my time.  And I mean a LOT! 

After that it was sun and tail winds all the way to Avila Beach and a friend who will host me for a couple of days, if she can put up with me that long.

Now THAT is a road shoulder!
Heart 2 Comment 0
Back road shortcut
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Nice scene to add to the fish taco bliss
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 6
Jacquie GaudetI didn't know chains were used to measure elevation! Interesting.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Karen CookMe neither! 😃
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Mike AylingA chain is 66 feet so the altitude is 287.76 feet above sea level.
I know a bloke whose first job was a land surveyors assistant or chainman.
He got to carry the chain around, which he said was hard work.
See Gunters Chain in your Wikipedia for how the chain was deployed

Mike .
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Karen CookTo Mike AylingAhh yes. A surveyer's chain. That makes sense thanks!
Karen
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Valter FumeroInches, feet and miles were not enough to get us metric people in trouble? :-o
Valter
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Karen CookTo Valter FumeroOh no, not the metric system! ;-)
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
WOO HOOO!
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 50 miles (80 km)
Total: 260 miles (418 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0