Col des Ares - a category 2 climb - Six weeks in Europe - CycleBlaze

June 2, 2023

Col des Ares - a category 2 climb

PToday was the day to start riding.  It was a beautiful sunny day with a perfect temperature to try my hand a one of the Tour de France cols albeit not the toughest one in the area.  Our host recommended this as a first step to see if I wanted to tackle something more challenging.  I was out by myself because Derek and Linda went off hiking, and they truly had their own adventure not getting back until 4:30 whereas I was back just after 1pm.  I had the gpx track on my Garmin and was already familiar with the area so I was not all fussed.  Basically it was an out and back turning around at the top.  There is a way to go around but that would have been over 100km and with lots more riding ahead I decided to pass.  The return route took me  through a few small villages so it wasn’t a repeat of the way out.  I had a little WAA time because of detour due to construction but it was no big deal.  I managed the climb without even using all of my gears so I am still thinking about trying to tackle the famous Col de Peyresourde which is longer and steeper than today.  We will see.

The profile of the climb. I rode 23km to reach the base of the climb.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Our accommodation for the week.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I was detoured onto a local bike path because of construction. It is right beside the raging Garrone river.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Poppies are in bloom here
Heart 0 Comment 1
Gail JohnsonOh my, love those beautiful red poppies!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Up close
Heart 0 Comment 0
The start of the climb.
Heart 0 Comment 0
At the top.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Part way down I took this photo of the glacier in the distance. It was much clearer on the way up but I didn’t want to stop.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This was the village of Antichan that I passed through on the way up and down.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This was my view riding back to Bagnère de Luchon.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Once in town I stopped at this bakery for a lovely sandwich.
Heart 1 Comment 0
My baguette had seeds on that kept falling off so I had these guys a lunch mates.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 64 km (40 miles)
Total: 2,040 km (1,267 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Gail JohnsonWell done Margaret!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago