Westcliffe- Walsenburg, CO - Big Mountains, Small Towns. - CycleBlaze

June 15, 2022

Westcliffe- Walsenburg, CO

Heart 0 Comment 0

Oren and I were out the door at 7. The sky was bright blue and the air was crisp. Temperatures felt good for the first 16.5 miles. Then we reached the summit. From there I was bordering on cold. But it was a good, all of my sense feel alive sort of cold.

The road surface continued to be above average. We didn't have a shoulder, but there was little traffic. 

I lost Oren about mile 20. I stopped for one photo too many. This is the third time we've ridden Highway 69. Which brings me to question - yesterday I saw a mile marker 68.9. It was not 69. I've read that those mile signs are stolen too frequently. But, no one steals highway #69 signs? They are more attractive than a mere mile marker. They are bigish, and have the Colorado logo on them. 

The things I think about while riding. 

We had a 40 mile downhill today. It didn't feel especially downhill as there were a few significant climbs to keep our interest. The first part of the ride was lush and green. The lower we dropped in elevation, the drier the land. We got down to seeing fields of cholla cactus. That is quite a change from the aspen trees earlier in the day. I enjoy seeing a variety of vegetation and geology. This area has both.

I ate my apple at mile 20. It lasted me around 20 miles. Then I had to get a bar out. I was happy with the continued cool temperatures. I climb much better when I don't overheat.

I saw three signs, in three different spots, saying Sand Dunes. They are enticingly on the opposite side of the Sangre de Cristo mountains from us. Oren noted yesterday that we made a big loop around the mountains and are now on the other side. He is correct. Apparently, there are three cross over spots. The first said Music Pass, the last one said Mosca Pass. I can't remember the one in the middle, but the pass also started with an M. I've only read one journal of a cyclist who took the dirt road over the Sangre de Cristos. Wayne Estes checked it out once. At the time he was traveling, the lodge told him there was too much snow on the pass, he wouldn't make it. I'd love to hear of someone who actually took the shortcut.

The tiny town of Gardner was interesting. It seemed as if buildings were either completely decayed, or newly refinished. The Catholic church appeared to have fresh stucco on the outside. The little Sunflower store was permanently closed. The post office was open. I saw a liquor store. It wasn't open at the moment. I would guesstimate that 75% of the buildings in town were not habitable. Yet, it's still there.

Passing Gardner, there were more and more derelict buildings. There were so many that I started to feel a little uncomfortable. Traffic had been light today. Perhaps too light, that I was feeling exposed. I had to think on that for a moment. Really? I felt that there wasn't enough traffic? Maybe the price of gas is keeping people home? I decided to do a study. For the next seven miles, I counted 17 vehicles. 13 of those were pick ups. You can tell we are in working guy country. Jacinto thought I was a little silly, that there was plenty of traffic. 

Right where I saw the burros was a bridge. I used that as a hiding spot for a pee break. While I was captive, I had an opportunity to check out the bridge. It had wooden railings that were mostly there. The boards were pulling out of the nails in many spots, and it needed repainted. I hope this bridge is on the Build Back Better Program.

The mile markers counted down to town. That is helpful to me. I was ready to be there. Even though this was a mostly downhill day, we had a slight headwind. My stomach started growling about five miles out. I knew there was a Taco Bell at the intersection. Who would think that would be exciting? Finally, I summited the last climb. Yay! There's nothing better than a downhill to town.

This is a busy intersection. It's next to I-25. Semi trailers are pulling in, and there are cars going everywhere at the big gas station. I looked for Oren's bike, but did not see him. I parked at Taco Bell. I was eating my second order of tacos, when I saw Oren bicycle out front. ??? I thought he was long gone. Today he could not get a room at the Best Western and ended up with an airbnb in town. What is he doing here? I thought he was gone. It ends up he was a t the gas station, eating at a picnic table outside.

We chat for a bit about the day. I watch Jacinto on the Strava link. Oren leaves to find groceries. We agree to text later about tomorrow. I finally call Jacinto. He's nine miles out, I'm not waiting that long. I've already been here long enough to be stinky. I did have a woman tell me that I ride fast, she saw me at the top of the hill, and I was to town already. Gravity will do that! But, it was nice of her to say anyway.

The Best Western is next door. I rode on over and could check in. I chatted with the ladies about the weather and bicycling. They were very surprised I didn't have a car. The chatting part worked for me, as I came right back and told them the room I was assigned had a heavy smoke odor. They were able to move me. I also scored a couple of extra pillows. I expect four at Best Western.

Jacinto arrived and wasn't happy that I didn't wait the extra seven minutes for chicken thighs to cook. Instead I had bought him a sandwich. He ate it, but it wasn't happy.

He said today was just another day, there was too much wind for the downhill to be fun. He liked the downhill along Highway 50 better. 

We are on our own for dinner. Oren is 2.5 miles away, up the hill, into town. We are going to meet up in the morning. Oren has a whole little house to himself. He's making use of the washer and dryer. He wryly notes that the bathroom is at the far end of the house from the bedroom.

We are going back to KFC for dinner. It's not filet mignon, for sure!

Morning view in quaint Westcliffe.
Heart 4 Comment 0
I can’t quite make out the letting. The bottom says horseshoeing a specialty.
Heart 3 Comment 1
Kathleen JonesThe top line is maybe a name, which I couldn’t make out either. Second line says “Blacksmithing and Repairing.” I believe. Pretty cool.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
For Spoon, at the Westcliffe airport.
Heart 1 Comment 0
One of the barns I saw today.
Heart 4 Comment 0
I swear this sign wasn’t there in 2017, but Jacinto said it was.
Heart 2 Comment 0
A windmill. This is a good area for viewings.
Heart 1 Comment 0
I like this gate.
Heart 2 Comment 0
The tiny liquor store in Gardner. They must know their clientele, and stock accordingly.
Heart 2 Comment 0
There were enough abandoned buildings in Gardner and on down the road that it felt a little spooky.
Heart 3 Comment 0
A church? Based on the windows.
Heart 1 Comment 0
I saw two, TWO Buffalo. This is how many Jacinto saw. Where were they hiding?
Heart 3 Comment 0
I saw and photographed these burros. They were way up on the ridge. For Jacinto? Down by the road.
Heart 1 Comment 0
This is our room from the easy chair. I rejected the first room because it smelled of smoke.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 59 miles (95 km)
Total: 502 miles (808 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0