Trinidad, CO - Raton, NM - Big Mountains, Small Towns. - CycleBlaze

June 19, 2022

Trinidad, CO - Raton, NM

Heart 0 Comment 0

I slept poorly last night. Perhaps it was because of my late nap. Or, it might have been worrying about the wind. I heard Oren leave at 6:15. He was out to beat the wind, even if he had to wait at the motel for check in. 

I was down at breakfast just before they opened. They were sure busy for a Sunday morning. There were 10-15 people already eating. I asked for double eggs and bacon. I think I received double of both. We were at a Holiday Inn. The cinnamon rolls here are a popular item. Jacinto did get out of bed and joined me with his coffee while I ate breakfast. He wasn't awake enough for food.

I didn't waste time, but finished loading the bike and got on the road. The wind was a brisk headwind. Temperature was 55 and chilly with the wind.

Perhaps it's a good thing we are forced to ride the interstate today? Maybe the cars will pull us along?

The shoulder was wide and clean. Hurray! There was more traffic than I expected for a Sunday morning. Hurray again, for help getting down the road. I wryly noted that today I preferred vehicles not change lanes to pass me. I wanted to be in their slip stream. 

In perhaps a mile, we entered a canyon and it seemed as if there weren't any wind at all. I was having daydreams of continuing on to Cimarron (40 miles) in order to beat the forecasted rainy ride to Taos. 

I rode with only a couple of quick photo breaks, all the way to the top. It wasn't much of a climb. I speculated if this is our lowest pass for the trip. It might be. I did write down all of the high passes (Cottonwood being the tallest, Slumgullion and Wolf Creek in Colorado are the next two). 

It was exposed and windy at the top. Oren called to say he was in town, and that the downside in New Mexico was in very poor condition and to be careful on the one lane area through the construction. He wasn't exaggerating either one. He also said that our exit into town was closed because of the construction and to stay on the interstate until Clayton Street. Oren had taken the scenic route before he found his way to the motel. 

It was eight downhill miles to town. I had to keep the speed extra low to negotiate the rough shoulder. There were two fairly short sections of one lane with jersey barriers on one side and a guard rail on the other side. Unfortunately for me, two semi trailers passed me in that section. Everyone held their line and it was fine, but not fun.

I got off the interstate and could see Oren's bike parked at the Conoco station across from the Best Western. It was 10:30. I had requested a noon check in time. Oren and I had plenty of opportunity to catch up and watch Jacinto's dot move on the map. By 12:30, I was starting to smell the stink rise. Jacinto said the day wasn't long enough to sweat, how could I smell. I do!

I went across to the Best Western. They weren't quite ready for me. I planned to wait in the lobby. By the time Jacinto and Oren made it across the street, our room was ready. Today was looking might fine. I especially thought so when I saw our nice suite. We had a few rough places to stay the beginning of the trip. We've been spoiled the past few days. That's ok - I like being spoiled!

Dinner is at 5 PM. I think we are eating here at the motel, although I would go to the little Mexican place again. We shall see. 

Tomorrow should be an easy day to Cimarron, wind dependent. Then we have a big push over Palo Flechado Pass to Taos, where we are staying at my favorite place, Casa Benevides.  We are in New Mexico for five days, before returning to Colorado. Fun, fun!

This looks like a quiet country getaway cabin, complete with solar on the roof. Unfortunately, it is mere yards from the interstate. I think that’s a good old Volvo in the yard.
Heart 2 Comment 4
Bill ShaneyfeltNot so sure how good it is, but it is an old Volvo from the 70s like a friend of mine in Germany had back in '77.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kelly IniguezTo Bill ShaneyfeltWhen our daughter approached driving age, I asked a mechanic what a good first car would be. He answered, an old Volvo or an old Toyota. Buying an ‘80’s ‘brick’ sparked a ~20 year streak of Volvo ownership. The last Volvo I owned was a 2004. The local dealership had closed. When the car quit recognizing the ignition key, I had to have it towed three hours away to Denver for reprograming. Luckily, our insurance covered the tow.

I ended up trading the Volvo in on a minivan long enough to carry my recumbent.

The only accident we ever had with a Volvo was when someone turned in front of my daughter at a stop light. She t-boned them. Our car had the bumper pushed in slightly, and the hood buckled perhaps a quarter inch. A turning light lense cover was cracked, but the bulb was not broken. The car was totaled by instance. We bought it back and replaced the lense cover. The other car was hit right at the rear wheel/axle. It had to be towed!

Our daughter hated driving that unstylish car, but she had to buy into the safety aspect after that accident!

Our last old Volvo is still on the road, with over 300,000 miles on it. I sold it to a local mechanic who enjoys keeping it on the road. We wave wildly when we happen to see each other.

Good memories!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Bill ShaneyfeltTo Kelly IniguezGood story!
I bought a used 1971 Volvo 145S (Station wagon) after we got to Germany. Could not get what I thought it was worth when we came back, so I had it shipped. Ran it till late 80s when I was on I-65 going to Indianapolis and it blew a seal and the engine siezed. Loved how it drove. Perhaps the only car I liked better was a used 1984 Corolla hatchback, which could chew through snow like no other. It died of "body cancer."
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kelly IniguezTo Bill ShaneyfeltA Volvo and a Toyota, Vaughn’s two recommendations!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Typical scenery for the day. Mostly the trees were very close to the Highway with not much view.
Heart 3 Comment 0
I’m not sure we earned a sign photo. This was an easy climb at interstate grade.
Heart 3 Comment 0
That New Mexico flag is flying a bit briskly for me!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Here’s a new take on trying to keep people safe. Appeal to the heart strings!
Heart 2 Comment 0
The New Mexico side had a really rough shoulder. Good thing they had construction going on.
Heart 0 Comment 1
Keith AdamsYep that looks pretty ratty. Not conducive to pleasant, relaxed riding.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
We stopped at Alfonso’s Mexican restaurant for an extended break before checking into our motel. It was an excellent value for the price.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Our living room.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Here’s the bedroom. The bathroom is larger than some motel rooms we’ve had. Score one for us at the Raton Best Western!
Heart 1 Comment 0
33 mph quartering headwind. Hmmm. Shall we ride 40 miles to the next town or call it a short day today? I did float that option yesterday. It’s a good thing the guys didn’t take me up on the idea. We would be out there for a long time! Let’s see if we still have that opinion if we get caught in the rain going to Taos.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Another scenery shot from Jacinto.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Jacinto’s border photo.
Heart 3 Comment 0

Today's ride: 21 miles (34 km)
Total: 609 miles (980 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0