Torrey - Richfield, UT - Big Mountains, Small Towns. - CycleBlaze

July 12, 2022

Torrey - Richfield, UT

This does not include my bonus miles to the wrong motel. I thought I had arrived, and turned off the recording!
Heart 0 Comment 0

We started out in a strong headwind. It took me 45 minutes to cover the first six miles. I had visions of stopping at the first motel and dealing with the fallout from that later.

Happily, the wind died at mile seven. Every mile after that felt like a gift. We had two labeled summits today. Who knew? What a surprise!

All of the route today was new to us. Richfield is set in a pretty valley that looks much like home in Colorado. We had a two mile, 10% grade downhill, followed by a mile of 8% downhill. I was so, so happy to be going down instead of up. Especially at the end of the day.

65 miles wasn't enough for me. I went two miles out of my way to the wrong motel! Bonus miles. Ugh.

I am happy to be here. I feel better than yesterday. It's a good thing tomorrow is a short day. I don't think I could ride three consecutive days with that much climbing.

I drank all four of my water bottles today. We had cloud cover most of the day, and threatening storms at the end. The cooler temps were in my favor.

Jacinto had another flat tire, left two hours late, and arrived exactly at the same time I did!

I think Saguache, CO could give them a run for their money on being the smallest town with a movie theatre.
Heart 1 Comment 0
I think this was meant to be humorous, but it makes me think perhaps Bekkah is the one who should be running.
Heart 2 Comment 1
I took a five mile side trip on Big Rock Road. So named for these rocks?
Heart 2 Comment 0
I was SO happy to not be taking the road to Fish Lake.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The clouds are gathering. They look pretty.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A summit sign!
Heart 3 Comment 0
Jacinto takes the best selfies.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Just looking at that climb makes me tired.
Heart 4 Comment 0
The road construction was at a scenic area.
Heart 2 Comment 0
The rain stayed politely in the distance.
Heart 3 Comment 0
There were just a few rock formations in the Richfield area.
Heart 4 Comment 0

Today's ride: 67 miles (108 km)
Total: 1,474 miles (2,372 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Keith AdamsGlad to read you were feeling better today.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
marilyn swettYour route was familiar to us. The last time we toured through Utah, we rode from Koosharem to Torrey over that summit. It wasn't bad going in that direction. It's a pretty area and one we'd like to return to in the future. There are sure some nice valley's in Utah!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rachael AndersonRichfield is where my mother grew up.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago