Taylor Park - Crested Butte, CO - Big Mountains, Small Towns. - CycleBlaze

June 9, 2022

Taylor Park - Crested Butte, CO

Heart 0 Comment 0

I don't think any of us slept well. Oren went to bed too early, and was awake early. Jacinto opted to sleep on the couch, rather than share a double bed. Not all of the windows in the cabin opened. He wanted an open window, so he opened the one in the bedroom, but then shut the door with me inside. I didn't want the window open! I shut it, he heard me, and told me to open it. I don't get his logic on cooling the place off, if he kept the bedroom door closed also. In the end, he came and got in bed. I was happy about that because I was freezing.

Oren and I were up in plenty of time to beat the wind. I was chatting away this morning, about nothing. He finally had to tell me that he isn't a morning person. That slowed me down. I don't consider myself to be a morning person either, but I worked mornings for so long, I guess I learned to be sociable before daylight?

We were on the road at 6:45. Jacinto was still in bed. We bundled up because of the 23 mile downhill to Almont. Breakfast there sure sounded good, but fighting an increasing headwind to Crested Butte did not sound good. We planned to go directly to breakfast once we hit town.

This piece of the road was not resurfaced. It has occasional cracks and pits. There were a number of well marked cattle guards. I noted far more potties than are usually seen in that number of miles. Forest service campgrounds are frequent. 

Oren noted that the scale of the scenery here cannot be captured in a photo. He is absolutely correct!

We saw a moose! It ambled across the road a safe distance in front of us. We agreed it must have been a juvenile. We also saw deer, marmots, ground squirrels, and also what I think were genuine chipmunks.

16 miles from Taylor Lake is Harmel's on the Taylor. It looks kind of like a dude ranch, with horse rides, a restaurant, etc.

Oren and I stopped at the Almont intersection and looked longingly at the restaurants. Nope. There wasn't any wind so far, and we liked it that way. We removed our jackets, and long fingered gloves. Now we would be climbing, and creating body heat. 

Here, the valley was open. We saw fields with cows, old barns, old cabins. For a ski area town, the country around Crested Butte still looks very country. 

I counted down the miles to town. I was happy to not fight wind. We deserved as easy of a day as possible, after yesterday!

A bike path started right outside of town. It looked to be not that well packed, dirt. We stayed on the road. We passed our lodge and went right to the Paradise Cafe for breakfast. Three ladies were walking out the door. They were four minutes to late for breakfast. It was 10:34. That means we were too late also. They admired our bikes for a few minutes.

I googled breakfast spots. There was a place right down town. Mc Gill's. It was right on busy Elk Ave. Off we went. We saw the three ladies there again! We got a spot at the bar. It took 45 minutes to get our food. Once we got it, the food was good. I had a spinach omelet with green chili over the top. The green chili had a little kick to it. Their fruit cup came with a kiwi. Upscale.

We were watching Jacinto. He left two hours after us, but was gaining quickly. We rode back to the lodge. Oren's room was ready. Ours might not be ready until 3 PM. It was noon at the moment. Jacinto pulled up. I gave him the update. We sat on the deck on the north side of the building until the room was ready at 2 PM. Oren sat outside with us in solidarity. 

Our daughter and her boyfriend drove over to see the sights and spend the night. We are going to Teocalli Tamale for dinner. We've eaten there several times. It's a fast food place, but a step up from the usual. 

Jacinto says he's sending the coffee stuff back with them. His official excuse is that he doesn't like cleaning the coffee pot. I think he had a rough day yesterday. He said that's one of the hardest rides he's done. 

I'm going to take the nap now that I didn't get yesterday!

I am dressed for 46 degrees and downhill riding.
Heart 4 Comment 1
Oren is ready also.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Taylor Lake
Heart 5 Comment 0
An abandoned house in Almont
Heart 2 Comment 0
I admire this tenacious little tree.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Do these count as hoo doo’s?
Heart 2 Comment 0
I don’t see many weather vanes.
Heart 1 Comment 0
It was sunny by the time Jacinto departed.
Heart 4 Comment 0
There has been a definite lack of flowers this trip. The dandelions are doing well.
Heart 5 Comment 2
marilyn swettSo beautiful!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kelly IniguezWhy don't we consider dandelions to be a desired flower? They do look nice here. In Carbondale, they have a big festival around people bringing their own weed pullers to the local park and everyone weeds dandelions at the same time, with music and food. There's booths, etc. It must work - I don't remember many dandelions around there.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
On the road to Crested Butte, there are still many old barns and houses.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 41 miles (66 km)
Total: 252 miles (406 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 1