Taos - Tres Piedras, CO - Big Mountains, Small Towns. - CycleBlaze

June 23, 2022

Taos - Tres Piedras, CO

Heart 0 Comment 0
Apple green chili pinion nut pie. It was excellent!
Heart 0 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltSounds wonderful!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
marilyn swettSounds tasty! Where did you find that?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

Today did not end up as we expected. It started off well, with breakfast at the inn. We now knew we could order extra food, and did. Jacinto surprised us by getting ready to leave when we did. I think he was concerned about afternoon rain. 

Exiting town was very busy. The road isn't wide enough for all of the traffic. 2.2 miles down the road, and Jacinto had a flat tire on the rear. He couldn't get the wheel off, and finally looked closely enough to see the fix from Absolute Bikes in Salida included a nut and screw that now holds his wheel permanently on the bike. So much for having a quick release. Fortunately, Jacinto was still carrying Oren's wrench. Otherwise, I'm not sure what he would have done. He found two wires in his rear tire. I hope we don't find more in other tires. This was the first flat of the trip.

We turned left at mile four onto Highway 64. Traffic lessened after we passed a gravel yard. Mile seven brought us to the Rio Grande Bridge. Oren rode up onto the walkway. I followed. Looking to the right, down into the canyon, gave me vertigo. I was happy when Oren stopped. All I needed was to fall off of the high walkway. We took a few photos and kept moving. I didn't see Oren again. Jacinto was in front of me, but stopped several times just long enough for me to almost catch up. Then he would leave. I could have caught him. Maybe. I think he would have gone that much fast to stay in front.

The day seemed to be flat. Looking at the profile, it did have uphill. We rode through miles and miles of sagebrush. Today was a connector day, setting us up for the scenic ride to Chama on Highway 64. I had warned Oren not to expect much out of the day. I was correct.

We arrived in Tres Piedras just as the wind started to pick up. Perfect timing. I went in the restaurant to see about checking in. It was a hopping place, and only two people working. The owner, Debbie, finally slowed down enough to tell us which rooms she thought we should stay in. They were not the rooms we had reserved. Jacinto and I ended up upstairs in the suite. Oren got what was supposed to be our room downstairs. Jacinto carried his bike up. I didn't even try to negotiate the several narrow turns on the stairs. I put my bike in the hallway to Oren's room.

We ate appetizers in the cafe. They have a basic menu, but everything is homemade, and delicious. The beef and pork is grown on their ranch. They make the buns for the sandwiches, cookies, cake, pie, etc.

We were back at 5 PM for dinner. Deb sat down and gave us her view of life. It was an interesting conversation. We started out talking about the earth houses, and wandered around from there. Water is a concern for everyone out west. Debbie opinions that we need to change how we use water because there just isn't enough. So true.

We finished our meal with homemade pie and ice cream. Debbie offered to drive us out onto Highway 64 so we could see what we are missing - wait, how did I forget to tell you that piece?

Oren had a text message from our lodging in Chama, saying to call as soon as possible. It turns out that the town of Chama is out of water. Barb said she could furnish us with a bucket to flush the commode, but no showers, and no drinking water. I presume restaurants are also closed? The grocery might be open? Jacinto had no problem with using a bucket of water to flush the toilet. That's just like growing up in Mexico. Oren and I both like showers and having drinking water. We ended up rerouting. It's very lucky that we are in an area that it's possible to reroute.  Now, instead of an extended ride through the forest, we will be out in the San Luis Valley. We will merge with our intended route in South Fork. 

Now we can have omelets in the morning instead of a breakfast burrito to go. That's a small plus. We were mentally gearing ourselves up for the big day to Chama. Instead we will have a 30 mile cruise to Antonito. 

It’s a short day, Jacinto rode with us!
Heart 1 Comment 0
I liked the glass block on this building.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Two miles in and a flat tire on the rear.
Heart 1 Comment 0
I’m not sure what it is, but it was very tall and carved wood.
Heart 1 Comment 0
There is plenty to see on this gate.
Heart 2 Comment 0
These are llamas. Five miles down the road, I saw more. Free range llamas?
Heart 2 Comment 0
At the Rio Grande Bridge overlook.
Heart 5 Comment 2
jerry witherspoonLove that view. Bev and I have motorhomed over it and again, brag, brag, I’ve flown my plane down IN it!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kelly IniguezTo jerry witherspoonSomehow I suspect that you weren't supposed to be flying your plane INSIDE of the gorge!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Viewpoint.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Another view, from the opposite direction.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Earth ship houses outside of Taos.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Arriving in Tres Piedras. It was good timing, the wind was just picking up.
Heart 2 Comment 0
We were supposed to be downstairs, but Deb sent us upstairs to the suite. Jacinto carried his bike upstairs. I put mine in the hallway by Oren’s room.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 32 miles (51 km)
Total: 736 miles (1,184 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 2
marilyn swettNo water??!!! Wow, it's a good thing you were warned ahead of time and at a spot you could reroute, otherwise you'd be stuck. That part of NM and CO is fairly remote with few towns or services, let alone lodging.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago