Ridgway - Norwood, CO - Big Mountains, Small Towns. - CycleBlaze

July 4, 2022

Ridgway - Norwood, CO

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today was a new day. Thankfully.

All of the car traffic must have been going to Ouray.  The ride was much more pleasant today. It was also more work! We had 11 miles to the top of Dallas Divide. The first 8 miles had numerous breaks in the climbing. Then we had to get down to work and knock out the last of the 2,000 feet of climbing. I saw Oren a couple of times. He stopped parallel to a honey vendor. I saw him stop, but by the time I got there, he was long gone. 

I did a good job of pacing myself on the climb. I ate two Perpetum tablets when I was stopped briefly. I no longer ride and chew them the same time, since I got my teeth stuck together on the Cottonwood Pass climb! I learned that lesson. 

We saw 3-4 riders on each side of the climb. Jacinto saw one loaded rider, four panniers, and a big pack on the back. We didn't see him at all. He must have come from Telluride. 

The down hill was my style - long and gradual. I tapped the brakes occasionally. We had a headwind, which was a shame, but it did help slow my speed. Oren was waiting at the turn to Telluride. He said he'd been there about 20 minutes. We rode the rest of the way together. 

Going down through San Miguel Canyon was a nice preview of Utah. Red rocks, and cedar trees. We had one more big climb, just for fun. By then the sun had come out, and I was warm on the climb. I've been very lucky the entire trip, that all of the climbs have been with cool temperatures.

The last five miles downhill into Norwood was fun. It seems that no matter which direction I'm riding, I always think in the back of my mind that I'm happy not to be going the opposite direction.

We cruised into town slowly, looking left and right for open restaurants. They were all closed. Norwood is very small, but looks prosperous and has three restaurants. We ended up at the grocery, Clark's Market. Their deli was open. Both of us bought more food than we could eat. I think that's a common hungry cyclist issue. The motel was a half block past the grocery, we walked over there to see if there was a shady spot to sit and eat. 

This is another contact free place. I called the owner (?) on their RING doorbell. She said the cleaning ladies were almost done. Indeed, we could see them working. By the time we sat at a table and chairs and ate, we could get in our rooms.

Jacinto pulled in shortly after. He had purchased a $20. pint of honey from the vendor. It's from Delta! Look, he missed his chance to carry it an extra day. I guess he's going to carry the honey for the next three weeks, until we get home? We do use local honey at home, but I'm sure not carrying a glass jar of honey that long. Plus, just imagine if it breaks in his pannier. That would be a complete disaster. He was happy with himself, so that's what counts.

Since the grocery is the only thing open, I guess we will be going back for dinner. They are completely stocked, and have an excellent produce area. 

Tomorrow we have a riding rest day. It's only 19 miles. We are setting ourselves up for the long haul to La Sal. We have a friend from home who grew up in this area. Audrey is visiting her mom, and is going to come over and eat dinner with us tomorrow. That will be our entertainment. 

Jacinto’s scenery for the day.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Another Jacinto photo.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Jacinto’s better example of the grade on Norwood Hill.
Heart 5 Comment 0
The old movie set for True Grit is now businesses.
Heart 3 Comment 0
This looks so real, I wanted to reach out and touch.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Our morning view.
Heart 5 Comment 1
Scott AndersonNot a bad start to the day.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
We did see a handful of day riders on both sides of the climb. At first I thought there might be an organized ride in the area.
Heart 2 Comment 0
I am sweating a river of sunscreen!
Heart 3 Comment 0
The new bike on duty for the first named climb. All systems were a go.
Heart 2 Comment 0
I look pretty good also, once I wiped the excess sunscreen off!
Heart 5 Comment 0
The downside was notable to me for not having dead pine trees. Beetle kill didn’t make it to this area?
Heart 4 Comment 0
We did not take the turn to Telluride.
Heart 1 Comment 0
About half way up Norwood Hill, looking at the San Miguel River. The only reason I stopped on the two mile granny gear climb was to take a photo. I assure you that’s correct!
Heart 4 Comment 0
Here’s a different sort of art.
Heart 1 Comment 1
There’s a bike shop in tiny Norwood!
Heart 1 Comment 0
This is the smallest, complete kitchen I have ever seen.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Our bedroom at the Norwood Inn.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 40 miles (64 km)
Total: 1,147 miles (1,846 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 1
jerry witherspoonKelly,
i’m delighted that you are now riding to areas I’ve not ridden. The next few blog entries should be really interesting to me. As usual, take many great pix to share with us landlubbers. I rode a very hot, hilly route today and was really bushed by a strong return headwind. What a delight to ride with you thru todays mountains and passes.

spoon
Reply to this comment
1 year ago