Richfield - Gunnison, UT - Big Mountains, Small Towns. - CycleBlaze

July 13, 2022

Richfield - Gunnison, UT

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today was just what the doctor ordered. We slept in, and went to breakfast late. Oren was out the door before Jacinto even had coffee! Jacinto was going to ride with us, because it was a short day. Jokingly, I said that perhaps he would like to ride back up the giant hill from yesterday. Why, yes! He would! Overall, the numbers don't sound tough. It was an extra eight miles, and 1,100 feet of climbing. However, all of those feet of gain are in four miles.

You go right ahead, Jacinto - I will take this nice recovery ride through the Sevier Valley. We deserve an easy day.

Oren had left early, concerned about the heat. At the last minute, I was also concerned. I'm the one who can't do heat. What am I doing, dallying around? It was 81 degrees when I left.

We were routed on 118 to start, a chip seal road. I was cruising along with little effort at 15 mph. When 118 merged with 24, the pavement was smooth. My speed jumped up to 18-20 mph, with no noticeable effort on my part. We had a generous shoulder the entire day. This valley appears to have many paved side roads. There's plenty of farmland type sights to see. I think this would be a good area for a base camp type tour, or a small circle tour. The scenery the past couple of days has been a switch from the red rocks of the past week or so.

Far in the distance, I could see Oren's taillight. I can't imagine how I caught up to him. I guess I really was feeling strong, with no mountains to climb! 

Oren passed up the grocery store. That is odd. I knew we were on our own for breakfast. I stopped. It was a good little store. I bought the usual apples, bananas, yogurt, chips. A kombucha. In the meanwhile, Oren had stopped at Subway. I have plenty of food on my bike, but we haven't seen a Subway since Gunnison, CO. We need to stop in Gunnison, UT's Subway also!

We meandered on down to the Gunnison Inn. My legs protested the additional exercise. Recovery pedaling days are a pleasure.

Our rooms weren't a pleasure. My double queen was at least on the ground floor. It's a very tight fit, but clean. The bathroom is about half the size of the bedroom. Jacinto's bike is next to the tub. We will shoehorn my bike in right before bed. Oren's room is upstairs. They are full, there's no moving to a downstairs room. I helped him carry his unloaded bike up the stairs. 

Jacinto appeared, happy with his ride. He listed several climbs that we have done recently that were, in his estimation, more difficult that today. He feels that the 10% signs were false advertising. He already has a longer route worked out for tomorrow. Talk about an overachiever! 

There isn't much food available in Gunnison. Perhaps we were hasty, eating at Subway already. It looks like dinner is the Tastee Freeze across from the Subway, unless I talk the guys into the taco truck. There was a Chinese restaurant, but it's closed now. 

We had an easy ride through farmland. I hope your ride today was as enjoyable.

My parents owned this theatre for many years. I’m happy it is still open.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Morning scenery.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Sevier Valley looks a lot like home.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The lean to addition on this house is out of brick.
Heart 1 Comment 0
What were these little houses? They aren’t tall enough to be for people.
Heart 2 Comment 1
Scott AndersonThey look like they were pulled out of a monopoly game.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
I like these old style advertisements painted on buildings.
Heart 1 Comment 0
I didn’t see a nearly replacement post office, but this looks very abandoned.
Heart 4 Comment 0
The movie theatre in Gunnison has a digital marquee.
Heart 2 Comment 1
Kathleen JonesThat’s quite a building.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Our room at the Gunnison Inn is very basic. We are happy it is here.
Heart 0 Comment 3
Wayne EstesIs that a Bible or Book of Mormon?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kelly IniguezTo Wayne EstesVery good eye. A Bible. My daughter asked what it was turned to, I didn’t look.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Wayne EstesI presumed it must be a Bible. The Book of Mormon is always left closed. Mormons are less in your face than Evangelicals.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jacinto’s scenery photo today.
Heart 4 Comment 0
He said all of these arrows make the climb look really tough, but he thinks Norwood Hill was more difficult.
Heart 3 Comment 0
I have never seen so many burros in one spot!
Heart 3 Comment 0
Look to the left of the truck. Two small fawns were crossing the road. Jacinto didn’t see mom.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 34 miles (55 km)
Total: 1,508 miles (2,427 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 1
marilyn swettI remember driving north from I-70 through that valley last year. It seemed like a nice place for a ride.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago