Return trip from Aspen - Big Mountains, Small Towns. - CycleBlaze

May 20, 2022

Return trip from Aspen

Did not go as planned.

Heart 0 Comment 0

I had a memorable day. I was awake early because my room was too hot. I should have enjoyed the sensation.  

I had oatmeal for breakfast, with craisins and walnuts. I was out the door at 7:30. It was snowing ever so lightly. I still had hopes of riding out of it, although the forecast said heavier snow in Basalt. That seemed odd, as Basalt is at a lower elevation.

Off I went. It's a shame to regret a good downhill. All I wanted was to generate some warmth.It wasn't happening today. I didn't look around at all for animals. Probably they were all bedded down anyway. I did startle two geese, who took flight right in front of me, honking in indignation. 

70 miles is a long, long way in the snow, with a headwind, plus the natural wind in your face from going fast downhill. Just this side of Basalt, I crossed an open area, the wind buffeted me around. That was it. No fun. I called my daughter for a pick up in Carbondale. 

I hadn't stopped at all since Aspen. I needed to use the bathroom. There was a potty just before Carbondale. It had an alcove to park my bike. I felt like I was slightly on the wrong side of cold, ever since Aspen. I decided that I really was cold, as  entering the potty felt warm. I think it was getting out of the wind.

Even though my legs didn't feel cold, my thighs were red. My fingers were cold enough that I couldn't easily take my pants up and down. I had been wearing a jacket, but not a rain coat. I debated if the rain coat would help. At this point it was snowing, which was accumulating, but not really wet. Every so often, I dusted it off of my jacket and Buff. Perhaps having another layer would warm my core, and thus my extremities? I dug out the rain coat. In that bag I also had some Saran wrap to cover my toes. 

The path was now wet. I was happy to have fenders. The cold spray off of the wheels would have been extra unpleasant.

Carbondale couldn't come too soon. I thought about Alison and how tough she was on her European trip, being the only one to finish the ride over the mountain, as the rest of her group got in the SAG. Nope. My tough commuting days 12 months a year are long gone. If my daughter hadn't been available, I probably would have stopped at Dos Gringos Burritos to warm up, then continued on to Glenwood Springs for a less expensive motel. Riding on the interstate with weather reduced visibility doesn't seem sound. 

At Dos Gringos I ordered a Mexican hot chocolate (with chili powder). They were standing room only, all tables were taken. When Marcela arrived, I wiped the worst of the snow off of the bike, and we loaded it in the van. Standing water and spray from the vehicles was heavy as we drove home. Not riding was a good choice for me.

As I sit here in front of the fire, with a thick blanket, it is snowing heavily outside. We were only supposed to get spitting rain at this elevation!

Today was a good warning to always be prepared. I could have used a thicker pair of gloves under my over mitts. Besides that, I could have put on my rain coat sooner, to help warm my core. I think the biggest issue today, was the  downhill chill, with extra wind, and snow. Hopefully none of those things come up while we are on our big trip. I have already told Jacinto he needs to buy the two items below. 

 REI Cycling Pant  REI over mitts - these are two clothing items that I used today that I was happy with the performance. They happen to be on sale 30% off, through the end of May. Unfortunately, the women's version of the pant is out of stock. It doesn't say water proof, but I was in the snow for three hours and they didn't soak through. Perhaps if it had been three hours of rain, they would have. Several people in the reviews say the pants are comfy enough to wear all day, not just in inclement weather. I haven't tried that. 

Two weeks from today, we depart. At the moment, it is snowing here. South of us, in New Mexico, there is a raging fire that I've read probably won't be extinguished until monsoon season (July). Yesterday Carson National Forest was closed because of the fire . A finger of that forest covers Highway 64 between Tres Piedras and Chama. That is on our route. We shall see what things look like when we get closer.

I will ride one or two more 50 miles rides, and try to concentrate on climbing. My legs were stiff last night. Overall, I think I'm good to go. Our first segment is low on miles, with two big climbing days. The second segment, we have to eat our Wheaties, and prepare to climb!

Even wet, my Buff kept the cold wind off my face. Do I look as warm as I felt?
Heart 7 Comment 6
Keith AdamsNO. I'm getting cold just looking at the photo, and it's 85º here!

You're a hardier soul than I. Power to ya!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kelly IniguezTo Keith AdamsThe day was definitely a lesson in being prepared, just in case!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauGreat pic. I have many photos of me looking like that.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rachael AndersonYou are really tough I’m glad you got a ride. Hypothermia is very serious!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
marilyn swettYou are one tough cookie! Good call on having your daughter pick you up. I remember a ride I did at home last spring where I got caught in very cold rain and hail. I was not prepared at all for that storm as I only had a light jacket. Plus I had no way to take a shorter route home so I was stuck just pushing as fast as I could. Luckily I had some disposable gloves in my bag that I pulled on to protect my hands. But that was after they had already gotten wet and numb. In fact when I got home I had to have Don come outside and help me unbuckle my bike helmet! I couldn't feel my fingers or legs and was shivering so hard I barely made it inside. A long hot shower sure helped. But never again will I do that!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kelly IniguezTo marilyn swettI agree with you. I am past the age where I willingly go out in inclement weather. At least I got in the good climbing for training. It's a shame I didn't get to enjoy the downhill, but, there you go.

Right now it is noon and 37 degrees. It's sunny. That's inviting, but I'm still sitting here with a blanket and a jacket! I'm trying to talk myself into some sort of a ride today . . . the clock is ticking!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Image not found :(
Every so often a chunk of snow would fly off the front, and land on my face, startling me.
Heart 3 Comment 0
The zen garden in Carbondale. My daughter took the photo. I wasn’t feeling very zen at the moment.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Snow on flowers is just as pretty as snow on saguaros.
Heart 3 Comment 0
I will remember living this day for a long time!
Heart 3 Comment 1
jerry witherspoonJust an excellent report on an epic training ride. Very well done, Kelly gal!

spoon
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Yep!
Heart 4 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Scott AndersonWell! Good decision calling for a ride. Hopefully you’ve still got all your toes!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kelly IniguezTo Scott AndersonI had those toasty opposum fur socks. I had happy toes.

It sure wasn’t the downhill I was hoping for!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago