Raton - Cimarron, NM - Big Mountains, Small Towns. - CycleBlaze

June 20, 2022

Raton - Cimarron, NM

Heart 0 Comment 0

I was much more zen this morning about the wind. Oren was not. Forecasts varied wildly on wind speed. We went with the conservative approach and agreed to get out early. Oren and I met for breakfast at 6. The included breakfast was the best of the trip, and included homemade green chili for the eggs! There were also thick ham slices. I'm not sure when I will be in Raton, NM again - but, I'll be sure to stay at the Best Western!

Jacinto barely managed to open one eye and mumbled good bye as I left at 7 AM. The parking lot showed signs of last night's rain, but the skies were blue.

We had five miles of interstate riding before turning onto Highway 64.  All was quiet this morning. I thought it might be busy with people going about their Monday morning. 

Taking the google guy for a walk, I wasn't expecting much from today. We are out on the plains. There might not be mountains, but there was plenty to see. I startled what I ultimately decided was a jackalope. It was huge! At first I thought it was a baby antelope, but the body was too wide, and furry. It ran at a fast rate of speed in front of me for a distance, before turning under the fence and disappearing.

We startled many antelope (yes, I know they are really pronghorns. Locally, we call them antelope). I observed that they were all singles, but still somewhat in the same area. It seems that they could group together if they wanted, being fairly close. Most of them were bedded down in the mowed area between the fence and the roadway. I wonder why they prefer the mowed grass? I saw only one antelope on the opposite side of the fence.  I was looking. That doesn't mean there weren't more, but I saw only one.

The first 15 miles of the road had new pavement. The shoulder did not. Traffic was so infrequent, that we stayed on the new pavement. I moved over when cars passed. One time I was riding on the shoulder, and almost ran over a very long tan and dark brown patterned snake. At the last minute I realized what I was looking at and swerved!

Who said the plains are boring?

I tried valiantly to stay with Oren. I did a good job until we hit some rolling climbs. Then I gave up and dropped behind. He waited for me a few miles from town. We agreed that the wind never built up, and that it had been a fine riding day. 

I called Jacinto to say we were almost to town, and where was he. Jacinto had lifted weights at the motel, and was packing to leave. Later, while we were at the convenience store having a snack, I looked at his Strava link and saw that he wasn't on Highway 64, but on the interstate. I called to see what in the world he was doing. He was getting some extra miles in - 52 vs our 40. I dare say our miles were much quieter than his. He stayed on the interstate until almost Springer, and then cut west toward Cimarron.

After spending about an hour sitting at the picnic table and eating our snacks, we cycled on into town. Steve met us outside. He said he saw us riding up and knew that we must be his customers, so he turned around. Oren shushed my chatting while Steve was processing his credit card. Steve needed to pay attention to his work! We got the low down on where there was to eat. The brewery sounded like the best bet, but it's closed on Monday. I think we are going to end up at the Burrito place. It had a line outside when we bicycled past. 

I have a room with two beds, it came with a fridge and microwave. Oren says his room is much smaller, and does not have a fridge or microwave.

Jacinto has left the interstate, and is headed west.

I believe I shall take a nap! Tomorrow we have a strong chance of rain.  Wind from the east, which is a tailwind. Hurray! 55 miles. 3, 500 feet of climbing. It's a big riding day. Favorable conditions would be best. We are going into Taos to my very favorite Casa Benevides! 

Our room at the Cimarron Inn.
Heart 0 Comment 0
We have evidence of last night’s rain. Happily blue skies today!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Highway 64 has been replaced, except for the shoulder. We stayed to the left when there wasn’t traffic.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Son Luis did a week long shooting class here many years ago. People come from all over the country to attend class here, in the middle of nowhere.
Heart 0 Comment 0
An old stone house at the Raton airport.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Typical morning scenery.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Cattle gathered around a windmill and water tank.
Heart 2 Comment 0
A tree! Or, is it a bush? It’s the tallest thing for miles.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The cholla were in bloom everywhere.
Heart 2 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltCane cholla can be spectacular!

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cylindropuntia_imbricata
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Fields of cholla.
Heart 0 Comment 0
My bicycle with cholla! I wouldn’t be near as excited, except for the blossoms.
Heart 3 Comment 1
Scott AndersonNice you brought the right seat pad to go with the blossoms today.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
This store was at an intersection in the middle of nowhere. It didn’t appear to be open.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This portable traffic light did not have wheels. To make it less attractive to thieves?
Heart 0 Comment 0
These flowers have been an occasional constant for days.
Heart 1 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltPrairie coneflower

https://www.waterwiseplants.org/find-a-plant/prairie-coneflower/
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Having worked in the concession business for many years, I have opinions on ice. Crushed ice is a thing of the past. The machines were auger type, which flaked off metal chunks into the ice as the machine aged. Not good. My mother preferred crushed ice as it clumped together as it melted and kept your drink cold longer.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bill had been working hard on these. I think his guess of cholla filaments is correct. The Highway department had mowed down everything to the fence. I did see mowed down cholla as I walked over to photo the blooming cacti. I think I must have stepped on some of the bodies and gotten the stickers in my shoes.
Heart 0 Comment 0
We stopped at Rocky’s market on the edge of Cimarron. They had a picnic table outside where we sat and snacked for about an hour.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 40 miles (64 km)
Total: 649 miles (1,044 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 2
marilyn swettHmmm - a jackalope?! I think you've one too many adult beverages!!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kelly IniguezTo marilyn swettI know!

I was thinking about that again yesterday. What did I see? For as close as I was, and as long as I saw it, I sure couldn’t figure it out.

It had longish varied gray fur, was low to the ground, ran really fast, but went in bounds, not smoothly. When it finally turned, it looked like it had long ears. I’d say it was at least two feet long. No tail.

Yesterday I saw a regular little Peter Cottontail, with a cute little white, round tail. Not the same critter.

I don’t t know what I saw. But, it was sleek and fast.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago