Rangely - Meeker, CO - Big Mountains, Small Towns. - CycleBlaze

July 22, 2022

Rangely - Meeker, CO

Heart 0 Comment 0

I didn't feel like I went back to sleep after my early morning mishap (see photo below).  Oren agreed to ride with me the first few miles, just in case something seemed wrong with the bike. Today was an all climbing day, and Oren out climbs me. At the top by the reservoir, I cut him loose. I had used most of my gears by then and wouldn't have much use for the brakes today. That was the last I saw of Oren.

We had light traffic in the morning, and not much traffic all day. Road conditions varied from slightly old to brand new. Overall, we've had excellent road surfaces this trip. I'm amazed. I always thought Colorado was lacking. Since we've toured here last, many roads have been resurfaced.

Jacinto and I have bicycled this road 2-3 times, always heading west, always into a headwind. That should mean today would be a tailwind day. I wish. We had a fairly strong headwind to the top of a big climb about mile 25. At that point, we lost the steepest (although we continued up), we lost the headwind, and gain new pavement. My bad attitude changed. It was still a long mile day, but at least conditions weren't as grim. 

Oren had mentioned that scenery was lacking the past couple of days. I had assured him, that riding along the river, we would have more green, and he should like the views. Every corner I came around, I wondered if it met his expectation.

The day was heating up. I had two cold water bottles, and two warm ones. I mentally figured my miles an hour, and how quickly I could drink the water. Yesterday was overcast for long enough that I didn't drink much. Today, the clouds burned off and I was gulping water faster. I mixed a second electrolyte bottle. Usually I have just one for the day. I still had ice. I ate one bar that had chocolate. If I was going to eat that one, I had to eat it before the sun melted the chocolate. 

The day seemed to be a series of undulating climbs. At least there was some down to make me happier. I ate a second bar, and my apple. The apple is my secret weapon. I always have more energy after the apple. Today it didn't perk me up as much as I hoped.

What a long day. I flirted with hot foot, and made myself get off the bike, so I wouldn't get a real case. The miles were passing slowly. I called Jacinto to see where he was. He had left town at 9 AM. For some reason, the Strava link didn't come through.

Nearing the end, I saw some sprinklers running right next to the road, on a tidy mowed property. They had turned the edge between the house fence and the road into an extension of their yard. I debated running through the sprinklers to cool off. Just as I was debating that, I noticed a man sitting in the shade, watching the sprinklers/traffic/view. I waved largely at him. He shouted at me to be safe, there was a lot of traffic today. I have had many people to tell me to be safe, or, even more bluntly, not to get killed. I know they are trying to be kind, but it puts a damper on my ride. 

I decided to stop at the convenience store at the intersection three miles before town. With that decision, I finished off all of my cold beverages. I had one warm bottle left. At the store, I topped off with ice and water twice while I looked around for a V-8. None was to be had. I bought Doritos and a drink to carry for Jacinto. For some reason I am in charge of his post ride drink. When I protested the responsibility, he pointed out all of the common gear that he is carrying. True, I don't have room to say anything.

Oren was waiting for me to check in to the motel. We had to call for someone to come and check us in. The last time I was here, an older woman came riding up on her ATV with her dog on the back. Meeker is that kind of town. This time it was a younger woman in a typical motor vehicle. 

I took a very fast shower, and we went over to Clark's for lunch. It's a burger/ice cream place. We both had chocolate shakes. Then Oren was freezing, but we caught Jacinto going past, so he wanted to eat also. Oren was REALLY cold by the time Jacinto was done eating.

I went next door to the Sinclair (no dinosaur) for breakfast items. Had I realized the yogurt was $1.69, I wouldn't have purchased it! 

We went to the Mexican restaurant across the street for dinner. I celebrated our last night together with a margarita. That is my first adult beverage since  Red Cliff, when I made the poor decision to have two double drinks. I didn't even finish this drink. It didn't go down well. Oren is hoping it doesn't effect my ability to get up early and get going in the morning. We want to beat the typical south wind, and Oren is starting his drive home tomorrow. As he says, "He's a man with motivation". I think we are starting out together, but I expect him to power on through and lose me.

We talked tonight about favorite, and non favorite parts. We all agreed this past days, since Wolf Creek Pass, have been drudgery. That's Oren's word. Really, the worst day was Duchesne to Vernal, with all of the double and triple tanker trucks. After that, the traffic wasn't bad, it's just that the scenery wasn't off the charts. We've had a lot of spectacular roads this tour. Oren allowed that the last 20 miles today, along the river, were subtly pretty.

Because of my falling on the bike, the front brake was rubbing. Oren fixed it in the morning by opening and closing the quick release. That worked great until my convenience store stop 55 miles later. Then the brake rubbed all of the last three miles to town. Jacinto opened/shut the QR lever again. It stopped, again. That's the cure?

Oren and I have agreed on a 6 AM depart. I am ready to get home. It's been a good trip, but seven weeks is a long time to be gone. We've had spectacular luck with the weather. We had headwinds a few times, and threats of monsoon rains. We were very lucky that the one day of heavy rain was our day off in Taos. We've passed through several areas known for high winds - around Green River, UT and again, right here. We had enough wind to complain, but not enough to make us crawl to town.

I won't talk about mechanical issues until tomorrow is done. I don't want to jinx us!

I tripped over my bike during my 3 AM bathroom run. We were both slightly injured. One brake lever broke, my knee was in the spokes. My knee hurts today, and I think the wheel might be a little out of true as it now rubs the brakes. It’s a good thing there’s only one more riding day!
Heart 0 Comment 8
Kelly IniguezTo George HallIt's nothing compared to your whole tooth problem, but I could feel my knee hurting during the day today. I think the wheel that my knee ended up in is also hurting . . . tonight we have a suite, and the bike is in the kitchen. Safe from night time trips to the bathroom!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott AndersonWhat a freak accident! I’m so sorry. Lucky that it happened so close to the end.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rachael AndersonI’m so sorry about your accident! I’ve become obsessive about making sure I have a clear path to the bathroom and how to get there. We stay in so many different places and in the middle of the night I don’t know where I am.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kelly IniguezTo Rachael AndersonWe did discuss early in the trip that we should start carrying a night light. But we never bought one.

In Tucson, the bedroom was upstairs and the bathroom was downstairs. I slipped going downstairs (broad daylight), and hyperextended my big toe. It was very painful for months, and I can feel it even now as I walk distances.

Thanks for the sympathy. The concerns are real!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kelly IniguezTo Scott AndersonI had a friend ask me about frame damage. Eeegads! There was nothing, to my untrained eye.

Is Tucson in your winter plans?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott AndersonTo Kelly IniguezNot this winter. We’re going south, but we’ve only got six weeks - not really enough for us to want to drive over there and back. We’re thinking we’ll spend most of it hopping around California this year.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rich FrasierI’m hurting for you. That looks painful!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Small town stores often let their colors fly.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I wish these early morning clouds would stick around. I appreciated every minute!
Heart 2 Comment 1
The spill way at Kenney Reservoir.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Kenney Reservoir.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Today was a climbing day. Any downhill was a gift.
Heart 1 Comment 0
One more interesting rock formation.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Rio Blaco Lake is dry.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The pink towel had worked well as a replacement seat cushion.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The wind was blowing too much to get a good flower photo.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Gateway decorations. Someone has been watering the flowers. They aren’t dried up.
Heart 2 Comment 0
This might be my last old homestead photo of the trip.
Heart 5 Comment 2
Jeff LeeIs that the same old farmhouse I saw in 2010 ?(https://www.cycleblaze.com/journals/briefescape/day-4-rangely-colorado-to-buford-colorado-the-white-river-took-my-diet-coke-away/#23284_gkceuulb4sos60gi1e87787f47n)

I think it is. Your photo is from a different angle (and is a better photo than mine.)
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kelly IniguezTo Jeff LeeYes, same place! The washer on the porch is the give away.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
This barn was very red.
Heart 1 Comment 0
This way is home!
Heart 2 Comment 0
Jacinto says there’s plenty of life left in this tire. The blue is only showing half way through.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 58 miles (93 km)
Total: 1,881 miles (3,027 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Rachael AndersonYou sure are tough! You make me tired just reading your posts!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago