Norwood - Naturita, CO - Big Mountains, Small Towns. - CycleBlaze

July 5, 2022

Norwood - Naturita, CO

Heart 0 Comment 0

I was asleep by 8 PM last night and slept well until 6 AM. Do you suppose the day was more difficult that I thought? Today was a whole different story. We got to sleep in, and prepare for a leisurely, downhill cruise to Naturita. Jacinto rode with us. We ate just enough breakfast to be hungry once we got to town.

We could see the rain in the distance, right where we were going. Oh, well. Better today than tomorrow, on our hard, climbing day. In the end, we had a few sprinkles, but mostly got wet from cars kicking up spray.

There was little shoulder, but little traffic. I did see 2-3 logging trucks. They were the first of the trip.

There's not a lot to report when you're only on the road for an hour! We were all happy we weren't going uphill, instead of downhill.

We stopped at the Rimrock Inn, just on the off chance we could get in our rooms at 11 AM. They didn't even have a reservation for me. But, there were extra rooms. That's lucky. More computer work, oh, there I am. The check in girl was nice, but it's pretty obvious today was a day after the holiday. Oren took an upgraded room for $20. extra, so he could get in right away.  The cleaning lady was still working in our area when we went to the rooms. I had to ask to borrow the broom to sweep our floor. That was better than looking at the streak of crumbs right down the center that had been missed. Perhaps I could have asked her to do the sweeping, but I was too happy about getting in the room so early. My positive attitude continued when the bathtub wouldn't drain. No complaining here - I am in the room, my bicycle is in the room. I didn't get too wet. I'm happy!

I asked about where to eat. They serve breakfast (for an added fee), at the motel. We missed that. There's Blondie's Hamburgers, or the gas station has food (burritos, sandwiches), the grocery store. I asked if the grocery had a deli. The check in gal said they have a 'hot case', but she wouldn't eat out of it. A random man passing by, added, "Oh, no - I wouldn't eat that either". Hmmm, that's why I asked - to get the inside intel. 

We ended up over at Blondie's, where we have eaten before. There was a heavy odor of grease. Jacinto ordered wings $7.95. He got five tiny chicken nugget size things. My fish and chips $14.95, had three chunks of about 3" long. I can't say eating at Blondie's was a good value. Tonight our friend Audrey is driving to meet us, and we are eating at the attached restaurant. The last time we ate there it was excellent. I hope it still is. 

I had been sharing messages with our airbnb host in La Sal. They leave us an 18 pack of eggs, plus a lemon pound cake. Our Sapinero zucchini mix was a hit, we are going to repeat that again for dinner tomorrow. We will have the eggs for breakfast.

Then we head on to Moab, where we will meet son Luis and his wife, and we will have a day off!

The guys are pointing at the rain clouds, right where we are going.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Yep. There they are.
Heart 2 Comment 0
There haven’t been as many falling down buildings lately.
Heart 1 Comment 0
We are getting closer to Utah.
Heart 1 Comment 0
I like their innovative archway.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Seen in Naturita.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I seldom get a photo of Jacinto on the road.
Heart 3 Comment 3
jerry witherspoon“Hoss”

spoon
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
marilyn swettLook at those leg muscles!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
There have been many old trucks today.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Highway 145 is low traffic.
Heart 2 Comment 0
This size of Doritos was $12. In Norwood. $4.95 in Naturita. Yes, that is a camouflage bedspread in the background. Oren asked at check in how the name of the town was pronounced - he felt that it should be Nature - ita, no, it is Nat-ur- ita. Somehow that question morphed into questioning if this were a redneck town. Yes, definitely. I suppose the Trump Won flag that we saw, but did not photograph was our first clue.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 19 miles (31 km)
Total: 1,166 miles (1,876 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Rachael AndersonGlad you had an easy day for a change!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago