Naturita, CO - La Sal, UT - Big Mountains, Small Towns. - CycleBlaze

July 6, 2022

Naturita, CO - La Sal, UT

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today was over 4,000 feet of climbing. One of our biggest days of the trip. It’s through an area we haven’t seen before. This is another one of those hidden roads we have never ridden, despite living reasonably close. It is a beautiful ride. Very low traffic. It’s almost like having a two lane bike path!

The valley was much greener than I expected for being so close to Utah. I enjoyed looking left and right. Before I had a chance to tire of the valley views, we were climbing up and away through red rocks. This part looks like Utah!

i was happy with my ability and pace heading up the first set of switchbacks. I ate four total Perpetum tablets today. I also ate one banana, and one bar. The weather continues to be cool. I finished two water bottles and started a third. We are heading down to Moab. We won’t be cool much longer!

I watched my elevation data on my computer during the second set of switchbacks. It was 700 feet of climbing. I didn’t stop at all and felt accomplished at the top. I was dismayed to see that I still had 1,000 feet to climb. This, when the road looked reasonably flat. 

Our blue sky had changed to a black cloud filled sky. I felt a few fat drops. I tried to pick up the pace and stay just in front of the clouds. It worked fine, until I turned right on the dirt road to our Airbnb, and had to double back. Then I rode into the wind and the rain. I didn’t get very wet. 

I was looking at my phone, and the terrain, trying to find our place. Then I saw Oren’s light in the window! Genius!

I was happy to arrive without having to ride on a wet, possibly muddy, dirt road. 

As soon as I got inside, I fried some eggs that were provided for us. Oren and I were both hungry. I showered, and when I got out, here came Jacinto! He had a good ride and didn’t get wet at all. 

We all agreed today was a tough ride, but scenic. I am happy we stopped here. Even though it is largely downhill to Moab, I’m not sure I had another 1,000 feet of climbing in me. We did have a nice tailwind today. That was a big help. 

Today was perhaps my favorite of the trip. It had varied scenery, low traffic, and I performed well on a difficult day. Bump this one to the top of your list also!

This is all that’s left of the drive in in Naturita.
Heart 1 Comment 0
This barn is a splash of color in the green valley.
Heart 2 Comment 0
The La Sal Mountains are barely visible between us. We will be up close and personally the end of the day.
Heart 1 Comment 0
I wonder if this valley is always so green?
Heart 1 Comment 0
The sign right over the door says “serving outlaws since 1881”. It is currently closed.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Paradox Valley surprised me with its beauty.
Heart 2 Comment 0
It looks like this large rock is a corner marker?
Heart 1 Comment 0
The post office in Bedrock has a potty out back. No running water?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Here is a lodging option. Three miles off route.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I took this from half way up the first set of switchbacks. You can see WAY down Paradox Valley.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I like this rock formation.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Right next to the sign is a house built into the rock. I slowly rode past, looking for the best photo spot, and didn’t get a photo at all. I was hoping Jacinto would get one, but neither he or Oren even saw the house. It was all glass, built into the rock.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The second set of switchback coil around and around. It was impossible to get a photo.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bill had identified this as butterfly weed.
Heart 0 Comment 0
It looks like they are about ready to raise this roof.
Heart 1 Comment 0
One more splash of color today.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The blue sky is almost gone. I need to pedal faster!
Heart 1 Comment 0
I left my purple stuff sack over the post for Jacinto. He didn’t even see it.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Oren was a genius, leaving his light blinking in the corner. It was much brighter than it appears here.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Today was a climbing day!
Heart 3 Comment 0
Oren has been indulging in all sorts of junk food. It’s all fair game when you are a hungry cyclist!
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 46 miles (74 km)
Total: 1,212 miles (1,951 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 3
marilyn swettI didn't even know there was a road into Utah here. We might have ridden to Dove Creek where there was a motel and food, then on to Monticello. It would have been a general uphill to Utah, but not as much as what you did. But would also have had more traffic.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kelly IniguezTo marilyn swettWe rode the Dove Creek route in 2020, on the border to border trip. I loved that piece of 141, to Gateway. The scenery is Moab quality, without the traffic. This route is an extension of that, with the petrified sand dunes, etc.

The road from Dove Creek to Naturita goes through Disappointment Valley - a desolate, wide open area that I can see could be very difficult with inclement weather. It is 62 miles, over 3,000 feet of climbing between Dove Creek and Naturita. Our friend, Audrey, said there is a wild horse herd in Disappointment Valley. We didn't see it.

The whole area is very beautiful.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rich FrasierCongratulations on a big day! Your fitness level is great!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago