Hanksville- Torrey, UT - Big Mountains, Small Towns. - CycleBlaze

July 11, 2022

Hanksville- Torrey, UT

Heart 0 Comment 1
Keith AdamsOof!!! That profile makes me tired just looking at it!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

I don't know where to start. Today was quite the day. I think it had the best scenery of the trip. Red rocks that put Moab to shame. We've seen many an outstanding pine forest, but those are many. There are few areas such as the Capitol Reef Park.

My thoughts were occupied in the morning with concern for the little chipmunks I saw in the desert. Where do they get water? Do they excavate their own tiny wells? It would be a long trip to Fremont River on short legs.

The middle of the day was Capitol Reef Park. Officially, 14 miles along Highway 24. Bicycle speed is perfect for appreciating the varied rock formations. 

Little did I know that the climb away from the visitor center would take all of the starch out of me It was miles 38-40. I was completely done in at the top. I was climbing slowly in the hot sun. I ate several Hammer Perpetum tablets and even resorted to a Gu pack. I swilled it down with my last cold water. Then I had the warm bottles for back up.

Mentally, I was so done. I had nine miles to go. The kicker was the 1,500 feet of elevation gain I needed to climb. I felt I would blow a gasket like an old Model T Ford! It was looking grim.

Something worked. I continued to pedal. There wasn't any more steep climbing and I managed to generate enough speed to cool off.

I thought there were 49 miles today, but it was really 47. My thanks was heartfelt.

I thought twice before I bicycled downhill, past our lodging, to the Subway/convenience store. My intention was to buy a Subway, but the line was too long to stand upright.  It was all I could do to sit still and drink V-8. Oren joined me and looked quite alarmed at my appearance. I walked back up the hill, I didn't even try to ride.

It was a rough day. Beautiful. One for the memory books. Tomorrow is 65 miles. I hope I have legs in the morning. I'm concerned about heat. We have an included breakfast buffet with our room. It doesn't start until 7 AM. Given my heat issues today, I'd rather be riding before 7 AM, not after. Maybe eating a full meal, and not oatmeal, will help my performance. We are eating tonight at the steakhouse attached to our motel. 

Then I hope I have energy to lube my bicycle chain. Perhaps that will help tomorrow. This bike continues to perform well. 

Later - Dinner was excellent. A stand out was the pickle spears. Odd, I know. I think it was the salt. I asked for extras. The waitress said they are homemade. I believe her. Oren had lava cake for dessert that was steaming (it was lava!). Jacinto and I shared four modest scoops of ice cream. I did lube my chain. 

Things I forgot to mention - I saw a fox. I think it was a juvenile, based on it's small size, and that it's head was red, but the body was more gray colored. It ran across the road in front of me, THEN saw me, and ran back across again. Oren saw a mom and baby mountain sheep. Jacinto was concerned he would run out of water, and filled up his water bottle from the river. He said it was brown with floaties in it. When he got to the visitor's center, he dumped it out and filled it with potable water. 

There were two road construction areas today. We saw many double dump semi trucks hauling asphalt. I presume that's what was in them, as they smelled like tar. They passed us both directions. Jacinto said one scooted back a little too soon and scared him, with the second trailer too close. We had annoying gnats yesterday. I even sucked a couple into my nostrils, breathing hard on the climbs. I was smart enough to keep my mouth shut, but breathing is a necessary function! Happily, there weren't gnats today.

I hope I sleep like a log all night tonight. My legs aren't sore, I'm just exhausted. I had a scare at the restaurant. Suddenly it occurred to me that I might have forgotten my helmet and sun glasses at the convenience store, because I walked the bike up the hill. I hurried back to the room. Whew! My helmet was in the chair. 

Our cabins at Duke’s RV Park.
Heart 0 Comment 2
jerry witherspoonKelly, a large high pressure dome is right over Utah. Tomorrow will be very hot. I’d like to see you riding at daybreak. Eat all you can tonight, grab a Clif bar and coffee at 6:00 and head out!!!

spoon
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kelly IniguezTo jerry witherspoonIt’s a double edged sword between being refueled and beating the heat. We do have 4,600 feet of downhill tomorrow. That should help keep me cool.

This morning I had oatmeal and a banana before leaving. Now I’m going to try a real breakfast.

Can you ride 65
Miles on a Cliff bar and coffee? I don’t even dare try!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
This mule had a saddle and was on a long tether. No rider in sight.
Heart 1 Comment 0
A cabin that wasn’t maintained.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Jacinto got caught in construction twice. A motorcycle rider took his photo and told him he is an animal!
Heart 2 Comment 0
I told myself I would remember the name of this garden center. I didn’t.
Heart 1 Comment 0
This formation reminds me of Mt Garfield at home.
Heart 4 Comment 0
This formation was at the beginning of the day. More to come!
Heart 4 Comment 0
The forest service is gender neutral, according to the sign.
Heart 1 Comment 0
A maintained cabin.
Heart 3 Comment 0
This type of rock is called tafoni. It is only seen at Arches and Capitol Reef parks.
Heart 3 Comment 1
Kathleen JonesHuh. We’ve got tafoni formations in the Santa Cruz Mountains, which are not mountains by Colorado standards.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
This waterfall appears to come straight out of the rocks.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Fruita had many old fruit orchards that the original settlers’ planted. It was striking to see the contrast in colors.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Out of the many outstanding rock formations today, this one stood out.
Heart 5 Comment 0
This sign says yoga. I can barely stand upright!
Heart 0 Comment 0
It was a two V-8 sort of day.
Heart 5 Comment 1
Genny FoxGreat job on such a tough day!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Our room for tonight was thankfully very nice. It also includes a breakfast buffet in the morning.
Heart 1 Comment 0
We are staying at the Broken Spur. Notice the details on the towel rack. Spurs!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 47 miles (76 km)
Total: 1,407 miles (2,264 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Keith AdamsSorry your day was so tough. I totally understand, since that's what last Saturday was like for me.

May tomorrow be better!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rich FrasierBetween the heat and climbing, that's a tough day on the bike. Congratulations for getting through it!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott AndersonSorry it was so hot and hard, but isn’t this a gorgeous area? Might be my favorite ride in southern Utah.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago