Gunnison - Saguache, CO - Big Mountains, Small Towns. - CycleBlaze

June 12, 2022

Gunnison - Saguache, CO

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today was certainly an interesting day. It was my favorite of the trip so far. Oren and I were out the door before our 7 AM depart time. It was a crisp 48 degrees. I had shorts on in anticipation of the day warming up. Oren had his usual several layers. Not two miles out of town, a coyote was starting to cross the road as we came upon him. He startled, and ran back down next to the fence. Then he ran at a high rate of speed along the fence line until we couldn't see him. He was a fine looking fellow, his fur was thick and fluffy. I know coyotes are not desirable animals. But he was a handsome guy (or gal). 

Oren and I rode together the 8.5 miles to the turn. I stopped to take advantage of the guard rail for a potty stop. I could see Oren in the distance for many miles. Finally, I stopped for too many photos and he vanished.

This is a pretty area. It is a much more pleasant ride than being up on busy Highway 50 over Monarch Pass. Everyone with an agenda is up there. Only local traffic, and people heading south are on 114. We had a vehicle pass every 3-4 minutes. As it got later in the day, there was slightly more traffic. I would say traffic was light all day.

I think we finally got low enough elevation for flowers to be in bloom. I tried to restrain myself from taking too many flower photos.

Today is our longest day of the tour, 70 miles. That's a long ass distance. Every mile in the bank made me happy. I was feeling strong. I remembered a couple of good climbs on Highway 50. Today, they were no issue. I think the secret is to ride Cottonwood Pass at the beginning of every tour. After that, the rest will be no problem. Suggestion - don't drink multiple adult beverages before riding over a pass. Personally, the Tennessee Pass day was the worst for me. 

Oren was gone, but I didn't worry about him. It's a beautiful riding day and the miles were ticking away.

We rode through Cochetopa Canyon. It had interesting geological features. There were a couple of potties, I think inspired by fishermen.

After the canyon, we came out into an open valley. It was mostly sagebrush with the occasional pine tree, and a few cattle. This is magnificent country. Did I say that already? 

I ate a couple of fresh strawberries. Too bad they are delicate. They were an excellent, juicy, snack mid ride.

I looked across the valley for Oren. He has a very bright Dinotte tail light. No, I cannot see him. There's a parking area at the base of the serious climb. A man there asked me if I needed anything to drink. That was kind. I was focused and kept going.

We had been climbing all the way from Gunnison. It's 39 long, gradual uphill miles to the top of North Pass. Only the last two miles are tough. I rode the first mile in my middle chain ring. When I took the switchback curve, then I dropped to the granny gear. I was going to stop for a break. What the heck. I could keep going. I 'what the hecked' myself all the way to the top. Look at me go! I am maturing in my cycling - in more way than one! This used to be such a difficult climb. Now I was riding the last section without stopping. 

I stopped at the top for a photo and a snack. I hadn't eaten a single Perpetum tablet the entire day. I ate a couple more strawberries and a two slices of beef jerky. I was hoping the downhill would be friendly. Usually I hit a headwind going to town.

The road surface had been excellent up to this point. There wasn't much shoulder, but it didn't matter. The downhill had not been resurfaced and had cracks. They weren't terrible, but they were notable. Every so often, there would be a mile or so of fresh pavement. 

The steep downhill was fairly short. That works for me. I'm not a fan of stretching for high numbers. I like a gentle slope that lets me think I'm a faster cyclist than I really am. 

In the distance, I could see a big black blob. It wouldn't be a bear? Surely not? A bear would be more up in the trees? Was it Oren? I don't see a flashing light. It's a mystery. As I got closer, I could see it was indeed Oren. He had on black pants, and a black shirt. He had been standing in front of his light. I need to convince him to buy a blazing yellow shirt like Jacinto.

Oren and I rode the rest of the way into town together. It was quite a ride! We had a slight headwind for about ten miles. 

The majority of the day had been overcast and cool. That is good climbing weather. Now the clouds were gathering up. I could hear thunder to my right. Oh, boy! I could see rain in the distance. Suddenly I had an amazing tailwind. I increased the pressure on the pedals and used all of my gears. This is the life! 20-25 mph with very little effort. We rode at least the last 15 miles to town at that speed. That should go in the bicycle memory book, not to be forgotten. 

We were to town by 1:30. I told Oren we could hurry over to the Oasis for lunch. They close at 2 on Sunday. Except - they looked very closed. OK - I guess we will go straight to the motel.

Just as we pulled in, so did the owner, Lorraine. She has owned the motel for many years and has fixed it up slowly until it is a perfect example of a 50's motel, updated. 

It's been so long since we've been through Saguache, she didn't remember me. That makes me sad, as for a time we came through here yearly, and got quite friendly.

Oren and I sat outside and talked a bit. Then Jacinto called. I expected the usual question of what is to eat. Instead he announced that the bolt holding his seat had broken! He wanted to know if there was a bike shop. Saguache? A bike shop. I doubt it. Maybe a hardware store. In the meanwhile, Jacinto said he would try and ride the last 13 miles standing up. Failing that, he would thumb a ride. 

Oren walked over to the grocery store and said they had an entire wall of hardware type items. He was sure they would have a bolt that would work for Jacinto.

We sat and waited. Here came Jacinto, riding with no seat at all. He has a Rohloff hub and the shifter is on the bottom curve of his drop bars. In order to shift, he has to sit down. But, where to sit? He tried sitting one butt cheek on the seat post. Nope. Not happening. The next shift, he carefully scooted back, and further back, behind the dangerous seat post, and sat on his rear rack, just long enough to shift. Jacinto said it was too bad it was mostly flat coming into town. He usually sits down for the flats, but did manage to ride the 13 miles standing up. I pointed out that most cyclists wouldn't be able to do that. It's a good thing standing up is his favorite riding position.

Side note - this is the seat he bought at Walmart on the first day of our border to border tour. Because Jacinto sits down so seldom, that Walmart seat has been on the bike ever since. Oren opinioned that it's no wonder the bolt broke.

They walked over to the grocery/hardware store and bought a bolt that works. Oren had a little wrench to tighten the nut. BUT, big BUT - it  appears that Jacinto hadn't gathered up all of the bits when the seat came apart. He has the top piece of the clamp that holds the seat rails, but not the bottom piece. I told him he could drop his bags and go back to look for it. That would give him a nice century ride for the day. For some reason that suggestion isn't appealing!

He's going to limp into Salida. Jacinto says  he can ride standing up that far, it's only 45 miles over a pass! No problem to stand up that long. He's happy if he can sit down long enough to shift. Absolute Bikes is in Salida. They are an excellent shop that will be able to fix him up.

It's amazing that, in a tiny place like Saguache, on a Sunday night, the guys were easily able to come up with a solution to get him on the road tomorrow. It's like Benson having an appropriate seat. Jacinto always comes out smelling like a rose.

It's Sunday night. Tiny Saguache has three restaurants, but only one is open. The Pub. That is all we need. I am not having an adult beverage. I learned that lesson.

I had a gluten free pizza, and saved half for breakfast. The charm of oatmeal is wearing off already. Oren pronounced the pasta magnificent, and gave his compliments to the chef. Jacinto ate a salad and wings. I don't think that was much of a dinner after 70 miles. 

The guys are inclined to go for a relaxed start tomorrow as the forecasted strong wind should be a quartering tailwind. I'd rather not misjudge a 20 mph wind, and leave early. Tomorrow should be a fairly easy day, if the wind doesn't beat us up. And if we don't leave any bicycle parts on the side of the road.

Tomorrow we are at a Best Western. I'm looking forward to a little luxury. I hope it is nice.

This looks like Leslie Nielsen in Naked Gun!
Heart 1 Comment 4
Bob DistelbergI wonder if it might be better to remove the seat post completely. Less chance of, um, hurting oneself, and would probably make it easier to sit back on the rack when necessary.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kelly IniguezTo Bob DistelbergTheir fix held to Salida. Jacinto is at the bike shop as we speak. No body parts were injured during this adventure!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott AndersonThat’s really scary. I’m glad he didn’t end up losing a core sample.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rachael AndersonTo Kelly IniguezGlad to hear he got it fixed! I had that happen to me once but I only had about a mile to go!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
We have two well appointed rooms and a newly tiled shower at the Big Valley Motel. It will probably be the best deal of the trip. $89.
Heart 1 Comment 0
I rode from this sign to the top without stopping!
Heart 4 Comment 1
This is not good! 13 miles from town.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Jacinto’s scenery shot from early in the day.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Looking back down the road as soon as we turned on 114.
Heart 3 Comment 0
The small yellow sign says no trespassing. Kind of counter to the welcome sign.
Heart 1 Comment 0
I think the big rock means they don’t want mail.
Heart 2 Comment 0
I love a good ranch gate.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I rode the two miles to the top without stopping! That is a first for me!
Heart 5 Comment 0
There were entire fields of wild iris!
Heart 4 Comment 0
The storm overtook us from the rear. We could hear lightning and got a little rain. We had a huge boost of wind and rode into town at 25 mph!
Heart 2 Comment 0
These are only some of the flowers I saw today. I think we are finally at a low enough elevation for the flowers to be blooming.
Heart 2 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltNice shot of the iris!

Top right is some species of vetch, as is the second. Hard to tell the exact species when there are so many that look almost alike.

https://www.britannica.com/plant/vetch

Bottom right is tufted evening primrose.

https://swbiodiversity.org/seinet/taxa/index.php?taxon=8513
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

Today's ride: 70 miles (113 km)
Total: 351 miles (565 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Rich FrasierThat’s a pretty big day on the bike! Congratulations on your fitness!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kelly IniguezTo Rich FrasierI’m a 10 mph rider. This really is a big day for me. ~6 hours a day is my happy zone. More than that and I’m too tired the next day. This was our longest mile day. Hopefully, our longest saddle time also.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago