Delta - Ridgway, CO - Big Mountains, Small Towns. - CycleBlaze

July 3, 2022

Delta - Ridgway, CO

Heart 0 Comment 0

I'm just going to spit it out - today sucked. Let me tell you the positives. We didn't get rained on more than ten fat drops. Almost the entire day had new pavement. The road had a wide shoulder, or at least an acceptable shoulder, except for miles 36-39. 

The sucky part is the traffic. It was SO heavy. With the exception of the Leadville day, we have had little traffic. Today we were on Highway 50. ACA's western express follows Highway 50 for a good distance. That is not good routing. Colorado roads can be found that aren't bumper to bumper. This isn't one of them.

We've only ridden this way once, with Spoon's group. There's a reason we haven't been back, but we needed to make the connection south. I fear tomorrow will be more of the same, at least until the turn to Telluride.

Earlier in the morning, traffic was light. We had planned to ride around Montrose on back roads, but decided we'd like a bathroom and a V-8, so we went on into town. After Montrose, we were on Highway 550. It was new pavement, with a usable shoulder almost all the way. That's a happy improvement over our previous trip.

We had a very long, gradual uphill all day. I tried to stay with Oren, and largely succeeded. Finally, at mile 39, when we got out of the no shoulder section, I told him I might drop behind, that's okay and to keep going. He waited for me though. 

We did get onto the bike path going into Ridgway. I lost Oren at our last turn. He went to the gas station for a drink. I went straight to the lodging. It's one of the contact free places where you pay in advance and get a door code. This is a hostel set up, with community bathrooms. It was more money than we think it's worth. But they would take a one night reservation. Our room was $218., one of the most expensive of the trip. 

It started to rain right after we arrived. I was happy to lounge in the room, doing nothing. I had pushed perhaps a little too hard to stay with Oren. I hope I don't pay for that tomorrow, when we cross Dallas Divide. I called Jacinto after we got in the rooms. He was in Montrose, looking for an allen wrench big enough to tighten his kickstand. I've resisted kickstands for years, opting for a Click Stand instead. then I bought a bike that came with a kickstand. I have to admit, it's sure handy. Especially with an eight foot long bike. Jacinto has a fancy double legged kickstand. It will hold his bike, even with four panniers. 

As soon as Jacinto got in and showered, we went to dinner at the Blue Agave Mexican restaurant. We were first seated next to a table full of young somethings who were enjoying Red Bull margaritas. I asked if we could be moved. They put us in a different room, and we could still hear the revelry going on. Today is my 60th birthday. Am I getting too old for fun? My idea of celebrating is stopping at the ice cream shop for a deluxe sundae on the way back. It was totally worthy of the occasion.

We have some food concerns for tomorrow. At the least, we know we can go to the open grocery store. There's a restaurant in town that is closed today, the answering machine says they are open tomorrow, July 4th. We shall see.

Tomorrow we ride over beautiful Dallas Divide. We gain 2,000 feet in the first ten miles. There's nothing like getting it done!

Bad lighting as we leave town. This was my mother’s theatre. It’s the crown jewel of Delta, but the drive in movie owned her heart.
Heart 5 Comment 2
marilyn swettThat's a totally cool theatre! Very art deco. When was it built? Does it have Egyptian architecture inside?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kelly IniguezTo marilyn swettIt is just as amazing inside as outside. I can’t post a link here, but if you Google Egyptian Theatre Delta, CO and photos, you will see the inside.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Olathe Sweet Corn is brave to post this sign.
Heart 3 Comment 1
Scott AndersonSurprised it’s not shot full of holes.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
My birthday selfie.
Heart 5 Comment 10
Bill ShaneyfeltHappy 60!

I remember hitting that about 16 1/2 years ago and thinking I'd never get old... Tell that to my knees.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kelly IniguezTo Bill ShaneyfeltSo far, so good. I can still do everything I want to do. I know so many people my age who can hardly walk across the parking lot!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Mike AylingMany happy returns!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kathleen JonesLots of ice cream for you!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott AndersonSo old! You poor thing!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rachael AndersonHappy birthday! Sorry you didn’t get a better ride for your birthday.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Suzanne GibsonHappy birthday! It's a great birthday tour you're on!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
jerry witherspoonGreat selfie. Don’t look a day over 70!

spoon
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kelly IniguezTo jerry witherspoonYou really know how to compliment a girl! 😉
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
marilyn swettHappy birthday! You go girl!!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
My ranch gate for today.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Almost to Ridgway.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Jacinto’s scenery shot for today.
Heart 4 Comment 0
His kickstand is supposed to be flat along the chain stay. He comes up smelling like a rose again. It worked loose near Montrose, where a Harbor Freight was open on Sunday. It took a giant Allen wrench that he wasn’t carrying.
Heart 2 Comment 0
I find this a little disturbing, but I’m glad they are using the entire cow.
Heart 2 Comment 0
I used to live a 1/4 mile from this remote store. According to the little neighbor lady, during the prohibition days, the community center held rousting parties.
Heart 4 Comment 0
We are in the Magpie room at the Adobe Inn. $218., bathroom down the hall. But, we can get a one night stay. Not our best value of the trip.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Oren had a clothes drying ladder in his room.
Heart 1 Comment 0
What is a Joinery?
Heart 0 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltHigh quality woodworking like making windows and furniture that require accurate cuts to join pieces. Somewhat beyond my capabilities.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kelly IniguezTo Bill ShaneyfeltThat's an interesting business. Especially in touristy Ridgway. Perhaps it's an artistic enough skill to have some demand in the tourist area.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
My 60th birthday sundae was worthy of the occasion. Coffee and chocolate ice cream. Almonds and toffee. Hot fudge sauce. Whipped cream and cherries. I did share with Jacinto.
Heart 4 Comment 3
Rachael AndersonThat looks delicious!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
marilyn swettYummy! But I hope Jacinto didn't have too much of that goodness!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rich FrasierHappy Birthday! I’m really enjoying this journal!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Oren is keeping his calories up, under Carol’s orders. Check out that straw!
Heart 2 Comment 2
jerry witherspoonSome of my KC buds, who remember Oren from our trips, wonder aloud what kind of retribution he is paying Carol for this looong trip away!

spoon
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kelly IniguezTo jerry witherspoonI have a friend who rode the Northern Tier. Before he left, not after, his wife got a new kitchen. He said it was a specific negotiation!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
I don’t think this was the original set up. It looks like a 1974 Ford. That’s the vehicle I learned to drive on.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 49 miles (79 km)
Total: 1,107 miles (1,782 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Genny FoxHappy, Happy Birthday! I can't think of a better way to spend it than touring.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kelly IniguezThis wasn't a great cycling day - but I did try to tell myself all of the good things. Not every day can be a favorite riding day.

The ice cream was perfect.

Thanks for the good wishes!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rachael AndersonYou should do what I do. Celebrate your birthday for at least a week and hopefully you’ll have a great ride another day! You’ve earned it.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kelly IniguezTo Rachael AndersonYou are too fun! That’s an extension of being the Princess all year when you have a zero birthday.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago