Crested Butte - Gunnison, CO - Big Mountains, Small Towns. - CycleBlaze

June 10, 2022

Crested Butte - Gunnison, CO

Heart 0 Comment 0

We didn't even set an alarm this morning. Relaxed days are nice. Of course, we were awake early on the day we could sleep in! Oren texted me at 7, and we met for breakfast. There were plenty of bread items, plus instant oatmeal and fruit. The interesting offering were canned pear halves with a sliver of strawberry and a blueberry filling the center of each one. Oren and I chatted for awhile. Then Marcela and Scott came down. Eventually Jacinto wandered in, looking for caffeine. He has decided to send his coffee back home. I was surprised at his decision. Jacinto's official reason is that he doesn't want to clean the coffee pot each night. I think the real reason is that he's trying  to lighten the load. Jacinto said the climb over Cottonwood Pass was one of the most difficult he can remember. 

We have hit the wind wrong in this valley, we were mindful of the forecast when deciding our depart time. Oren and I were out the door at 9:45. We were joking where the 300 feet of climbing might be. We guessed that perhaps most of the climbing might be exiting town.

Today was a fast, fun day. There was a fair amount of traffic, but the shoulder was at least six feet wide the entire day.

My most exciting news is that I saw a fox drinking from the creek right next to the road. It was an odd pink color, instead of the typical red. 

I passed Oren early on. It's easy to tell who the heavier rider is going downhill. I have to admit to kicking my horse also. I was riding at 16-18 mph most of the day. Jacinto asked what my average was, but that was after we went back and forth through town.

We went to the Double Dragon restaurant to eat. It was excellent. The service was the best I've had in a long time.  Jacinto and I had a lot of leftovers, and we took Oren's also. We have plenty of food for our day off. Oren was wondering what we would do for dinner. Friday night in a busy tourist town is not a good time for a sit down dinner. We've agreed on Subway. We can get some greens in.

The Double Dragon employees all work face masks. None of the customers did. I can't remember seeing anyone else with masks the entire trip. I would have to think about it. 

Our usual favorite stay in Gunnison is the Quality Inn. This one is a bit nicer than most. Recent reviews are poor. Staffing issues. The reviews were bad enough that I looked at airbnb. We rented a little cabin right off of the main drag. Months later, Oren decided to join us. His motel is only a half block from our cabin! What are the chances?

This place is extra cute - it's an 1880's cabin that has been completely refurbished. I could move in here! It has a memory foam bed, fast wi-fi, and is extra clean. What more do I need?

Temperatures have been cool, mostly because of our high altitude. I've worn tights more often than not. We wore our jackets and long fingered gloves on the descent from Taylor Park. As a general statement, early mornings have been mid-30's, daytime highs around 70 degrees. I wanted to write that we are at a low elevation now, except that Gunnison is 7,800 feet. Today's high was 81 degrees. I've appreciated the cool weather for climbing. I don't do well in the  heat. 

We are feeling a little guilty about have two easy days in a row and then a rest day. Sunday, we ride 70 miles over North Pass to Saguache. Wind will be the factor in our next segment of riding. There's already high wind warnings posted.

We've had eight riding days in this segment. Now the pace picks up. Our next layover is in Taos!

The falling down cabin made it through another winter.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Looking back on Crested Butte. Could you get tired of that view coming into town?
Heart 4 Comment 2
Scott AndersonNope. I’ve never been up there but it’s always been a temptation when looking at the map.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kelly IniguezIt's a busy little tourist place. At least this early in the season, the locals don't seem to jaded. I ran into a couple in Tucson riding a half recumbent tandem who spent half of their year in Tucson, the other half in Crested Butte.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Ranching is still alive in the valley.
Heart 4 Comment 0
An old barn.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Our Airbnb is cuter than a bug’s ear!
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 29 miles (47 km)
Total: 281 miles (452 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Rachael AndersonYou certainly have earned some easier days!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kelly IniguezTo Rachael AndersonI was looking at our total mileage for eight days of riding, thinking I must have forgotten to fill some in. Nope, 281 miles. Iā€™m not making that 42 mile a day minimum! šŸ˜‰

Seriously, it was smart to start off easy. None of us are young anymore. Both the altitude and the climbing are an adjustment.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rachael AndersonTo Kelly IniguezI'm sorry I got you into the 42 mile minimum. I'm certainly not following it when I have a loaded bike and especially with the kind of climbing you are doing! Your alot tougher than I am.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago