Crawford - Delta, CO - Big Mountains, Small Towns. - CycleBlaze

July 2, 2022

Crawford - Delta, CO

Heart 0 Comment 0

Truthfully, today was a let down, after our beautiful ride yesterday. Today is a connector piece, to get us back into the mountains. It does happen to take us to Delta, where I grew up. My mother is gone, and I haven't lived here in 30+ years. We are going to dinner with a friend tonight.

Oren and I were supposed to ride the first few miles together. He wanted to ride the most direct route, Highway 92, all the way. That's what he did. He didn't take the turn with me onto Crawford Road, because it said Paonia, and he knew he didn't want to go there.

We've ridden this route several times. I took the most direct, but backroad route. Jacinto was going to catch up to me, but then was quite surprised I wasn't detouring to Cedaredge. He ended up riding an extra 10 miles. He also got a flat tire on the rear. This one on the outside of the tube. He couldn't find anything in the tire, so he swapped tires. It held the rest of the way to town.

We were quite chilly last night when Sheila dropped of my bike. She had to get a sweater from the van. I think our days of needing a jacket at night are gone for awhile!

I wore shorts today, instead of tights. It was warm/hot, but there was enough of a breeze and enough downhill to make it tolerable. My phone said 90 degrees when I got in. That is our warmest temperature of the trip.

Since these were familiar roads, I enjoyed seeing old sights. The climbs didn't seem as steep. I think all of this climbing we've been doing is beneficial. The new bike shifted crisply all of the time. That was a relief. I gave Jacinto some of my bulky, but light weight items - such as my soft jacket and my vest. I didn't notice the reduction in weight. He says he didn't notice an increase in weight either, but might change his opinion on the Dallas Divide day.

I rode as little as possible on Highway 92. I did catch up to Oren right at my turn for the backroads. He was stopping to put his flag up. I said he could ride with me. The backroads might not be exciting, but they would be quiet. No, he just wanted to get to town. Later, Oren said that 92 was very busy for a few miles, then a shoulder appeared and it seemed as if the traffic let off. 

I had several big boomerang climbs - the type where you can see across the draw where the road goes back up again. The grades didn't seem as difficult as in previous years. On a particular climb, I remember Jeff waiting for us with fresh peaches. That sure didn't happen today!

North Road was my  main road for the day. I was surprised when I hit some road construction. It said 'road closed Mon-Thurs', today is Saturday. I kept going. I did not see a single car on the entire 2-3 mile stretch of dirt. It looks like they are completely grading/widening/repaving this piece of road. It needed the love. I got a little worried about the lack of traffic. What if I see a road closed sign at the far end? If I had to back track on this steep road, I would cry! Happily, I rode out the other side. 

I then passed the Fruit Growers Reservoir. When the water is high (it's been years), the road goes right through the center of the lake like you are walking on water. I've been through when the water is just inches from the top. It is a unique experience.

I was quickly to Eckert, where North Road crosses, and goes down the hill to the 'dobes. I was watching the clouds on my right. I thought they would stay there, up in the mountains. But, I kept pedaling. Now I was on a nice downhill run into town.

At the motel, it was remote check in. I had a text message saying I was in room 11, XXXX was the code. The problem is that Oren got the same room! I called the number on the door, got a person right away, and he already realized there was an issue, and gave me a new room. These rooms are nice. We've had a few days of old cabins, and older rooms. For some reason, Delta has a lack of nice lodging. I would stay here again.

Now we are going out to dinner with my mother's right hand man, George.

This photo totally does not show the steep granny gear climb. I stopped at the top to walked over the angled train tracks. Better safe than sorry.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Covered to keep the birds away?
Heart 1 Comment 0
These clouds look like smoke signals to me. In the center of the photo is a wind turbine for the orchard. In front is an old rock wall.
Heart 3 Comment 0
The mailbox matches their orchard name.
Heart 1 Comment 0
This Ukrainian flag was out in the middle of nowhere.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Buffalo at a meat producing ranch
Heart 1 Comment 0
My replacement bike. It is also a Stratus XP, k frame. Both are 2010 models, just different colors. in the background are some bee hives. I stopped here for a potty break. Happily, the bees didn’t care.
Heart 1 Comment 1
marilyn swettNice bike! Watch out for bee hives though, I got stung near one in Wisconsin when I stopped for a potty break!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
I had a steep down and up on the dirt construction section. It was closed for the holiday weekend. I didn’t see a single car the entire distance. I was somewhat concerned I would run into a closed road sign on the other side and have to turn back. I might have cried. That didn’t happen.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Are these pelicans? I don’t know what other bird had that shape of neck and gullet.
Heart 0 Comment 1
jerry witherspoonWhite pelicans; larger than the brown ones normally seen along Ocean ports. Whites have a black wing tip and soar in Vs when migrating. I see them here in KC as they pass north/south.

spoon
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Our room tonight.
Heart 1 Comment 0
My mother spent more than 50 years lovingly caring for this drive in.
Heart 5 Comment 2
jerry witherspoonThe narrative “ It does happen to take us to Delta, where I grew up. My mother is gone, and I haven't lived here in 30+ years.”, along with this great picture, sorta made me choke back some tears. I so vividly remember riding there with you and how proudly you showed me the, was it the “Treaty”, tree? And I recently traveled to my own home town, Ferris, TX, and how the funny feeling felt riding thru and remembering.

spoon
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kelly IniguezTo jerry witherspoonMemories are bitter sweet, aren't they?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jacinto’s scenery shot.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Another Jacinto photo. He took a different route, going further north to Cedaredge. He got an extra ten miles.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Jacinto was wishing these clouds would rain on him. It was 90 degrees today. That is the highest temperature we have seen this trip.
Heart 5 Comment 0

Today's ride: 41 miles (66 km)
Total: 1,058 miles (1,703 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Rachael AndersonGlad you got your other bike!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauAs I seem to recall from one of your past journals, today (July 3rd) is your birthday. The reason I remember that is because it is also my birthday. So if my memory is correct, HAPPY BIRTHDAY! If it's incorrect, please disregard this message.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kelly IniguezTo Gregory GarceauLook at you! Happy birthday to us! Thank you for remembering
Reply to this comment
1 year ago