Buena Vista - Taylor Park Trading Post, CO - Big Mountains, Small Towns. - CycleBlaze

June 8, 2022

Buena Vista - Taylor Park Trading Post, CO

Heart 0 Comment 0

I slept reasonably well, and didn't wake up stressing over the big climb. It helps that I've ridden it recently. I was awake for good at 5 AM. We walked to Jan's Diner for breakfast at 6:30. It was good, and we had a pleasant waitress who did a good job with our requests. Jacinto got a dry burrito to eat later, then he wanted the green chili that should have gone on that burrito to eat on his eggs and hash browns. It took a little explaining, but she was nice. 

I was surprised they weren't busy at that hour. I expected everyone to be having breakfast before they go play.

Our planned depart time was 8 AM. Oren and I were out the door 15 minutes early. Jacinto said he would be right behind us, if he waited too much, then he would need to eat again before leaving.

Jacinto sent me a link at 9 AM. I kept looking in my rearview mirror the entire day, expecting to see him, but never did.

I stopped to take a couple of photos and Oren out paced me. I never saw him again until the top.

The first five miles were fairly easy, as far as Cottonwood Hot Springs. Then we entered a canyon,  and lost our shoulder. The road also got steeper.

I knew that mile 12 was the moment of reckoning. I did not remember the several little areas of granny gear climbs. That might be because I'm riding loaded this trip.

At mile 12, I was feeling good, but took a Hammer Perpetum tablet as insurance. I counted out how many I have, to pace myself. I think their pure sugar (and whatever else is in there), is a big help for moments of high energy needs.

I started chewing the gooey tablet, but did not finish. Immediately after passing the snow gate, my computer said it was a 9% grade. Elevation was 9,800 feet. I needed all of the oxygen I could get out of the air, which wasn't much. Especially because my teeth were filled with goo! It was like having a dental mold on my teeth. I finally gave up and stopped to clean my teeth off. I stopped a couple of times in the next 3/4 mile, trying to get good breathing and a good pedaling rhythm. That was the worst of the ride for me. After that, I decided to chew the tablet completely before riding. 

Today was an excellent riding today. The pavement was smooth, traffic light, and the views were grand. What more could we ask for?

Mile 12 was the start of the tough part. Mile 19 was the top. The mile markers conveniently counted down for us.  I paced myself to stop a little over one mile each time. I ate another tablet, and kept going. I drained both my water bottle and my electrolyte bottle and refilled those. 

I managed my liquids well. It helped me that it was cool today. I'd guess the low 50's when we started out. The sky was completely gray with clouds, but that cleared up within an hour or so.  A beautiful, beautiful day.

I only had the one moment where I was doubting my choice of recreational activity. Besides that, I enjoyed the ride and looking around.

2.5 miles from the top, I had a man in a camping van slow down and tell me that I was almost to the top. Or, he might have said my friend was at the top. I wasn't quite sure. I knew I was still almost an hour away, so I tried to text Oren to say to go on, but there was no service.  I kept plugging away. I knew that 1.5 miles from the top, I would come around a corner and see the last two switch backs. Yep - my memory was good. I was very happy that I was able to move into the middle chain ring. That didn't happen as soon as the last trip, but I have panniers this time.

Oren was indeed waiting at the top. He was all bundled up with his winter gloves on. He had difficulty removing them to take my photos. He had been there for 45 minutes, and had talked to several people. There were only three cars in the parking lot. When we were there during color season, the lot was full. There's an advantage to riding this road on a weekday, early in the season.

I took a couple of bites of an apple and stuck a bar in my pocket. Oren had waited so long, I didn't want him to wait longer. Off we went. The wind had been an swirling all around, the last hour or so of the climb. It was much strong on the way down. The further we got, the worse it was.

I was happy we were staying at the Taylor Park cabins again. I feel less fatigued this trip, perhaps because I've been training for this. But, I also had to account for carrying my own gear this time.

Side note - I told Jacinto that chips and salsa would be good for a snack when we get to town. He could carry the salsa, I would take the chips. The bag was very full and inflated when I left town. By the time I got to the top, the bag had deflated. I didn't hear it pop. I should have gotten a before and after photo.

Oren was sitting on the bench in front of the trading post when I arrived. He was happy with the selection of goods inside. He had eaten a sandwich, and was drinking a cold Starbucks drink. I went in and found a V-8 ($3.85 - you've got to take into account freight, way out here in the middle of nowhere). I paid the tax on my prepaid cabin. That seems very strange. Why would they charge me in full, except for the tax? Who knows.

I was happy to sit on the bench and relax. A little boy of about 7 years old told me he like my bike. That was  nice.

Oren wanted to get moving. Off we went. Our cabin was very close. We moved the kitchen table over and fit our bikes in. I took the bigger bedroom, but they both have double beds. I think Jacinto is going to sleep on the couch. A double bed is just too small. My feet hang off about 6 inches.

Jacinto showed up about the time we got that all arranged. He had a good ride, but said it was tough. He's been to the store twice already. The beer cooler is out, so the beer they have is warm. Horrors! Jacinto paid $4.50 for a Coors beer. He put it in the freezer to cool off. 

We are all tired. It's a good tired.

Tomorrow the plan had been to eat a minimal breakfast, and then eat again in Almont. Almont is 20 miles downhill from here. Then we would have 20 miles uphill to Crested Butte. The wind is forecast to be 25 mph by noon. We are going to skeedaddle early in the morning, and try to beat the wind to town.

I called Melody at the Old Towne Inn. She said Oren's room doesn't have anyone in it tonight. He can get in early. Someone is in our room, so it depends what time they checkout, how early we can get in. We are going to eat a meal when we arrive in Crested Butte. 

It's 5 PM. Dinner time. We have  a six pack of City Market tamales for dinner. I'm sure they will be a taste sensation.

If these are 4” tiles, the width of this shower must be 16” or so. I’ve never seen a shower so skinny.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The drive in movie in Buena Vista.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Ponderosa pines?
Heart 1 Comment 1
The fun starts right at the snow gate.
Heart 4 Comment 0
There’s still snow in the mountains.
Heart 3 Comment 0
This is our highest elevation of the trip, and the most climbing of the trip, unless we choose to ride Payson Canyon. That climb is over 5,000 elevation gain.
Heart 2 Comment 0
The wall of snow makes us look tough.
Heart 3 Comment 7
Kathleen Jones*Look* tough? Oh please - you *are* tough.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kelly IniguezTo Kathleen JonesI wasn't feeling so tough when I had my mouth stuck together with goo! Thank you for the confidence!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Genny FoxYou go girl!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Genny FoxTo Kelly IniguezThose perpetuem tabs are sticky-I have almost pulled some fillings out with them. But I think the main ingredient is caffeine, not sugar. 😉
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kelly IniguezTo Rachael AndersonThank you! Even though I just rode this in September, this time was loaded. I actually this this time was easier, as I had been training more in preparation. But, it wasn’t easy! Just easier.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jacinto at the top.
Heart 6 Comment 3
jerry witherspoonThe “hoss” is boss!!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kathleen JonesGreat photo of him
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kelly IniguezTo Kathleen JonesWho doesn't love a nice compliment?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Taylor Lake.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Our cabin is full of bikes.
Heart 3 Comment 0

Today's ride: 34 miles (55 km)
Total: 211 miles (340 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 2
jerry witherspoonThese folks is real riders; the rest of us is wannabees.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kelly IniguezTo jerry witherspoonSays the guy who is about to ride 500 miles in a week at age 86!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago