Sightseeing in Xi'an - 5,000 years of history - CycleBlaze

April 8, 2019

Sightseeing in Xi'an

My first stop for the day was the city walls ($9). I was disappointed that they didn't allow me to use my own bicycle to ride around the wall. (Under the guise of security) So I only walked a fraction of it.

Then I went to the Xian museum which was free for foreigners.

My last stop was at the Giant Pagoda ($10).

On my way to my hotel, I was cycling down a parking lane that's also used by scooters and bicycles. A teenage boy crossed in front of me where there wasn't a pedestrian crossing and without looking. I braked hard, but still hit him. He will have a few bruises tonight, but thankfully nothing broken.

Image not found :(
Some warriors at the South Gate
Heart 0 Comment 0
Image not found :(
A couple poses for their (wedding) photographer.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Image not found :(
Reportedly this bell is from the 15 th century. And they let it hang outside in the rain ?? Near the West Gate.
Heart 0 Comment 0
When the bell is rung, water would flow out of the pots in the bottom left corner. I wonder how it works.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Small Goose Pagoda at the Xian Museum is called Xiaoyan. I presume that's where the city gets its name from.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Giant Goose Pagoda and the temple in front. The monks were chanting inside.
Heart 0 Comment 0
View from the Giant Goose Pagoda
Heart 0 Comment 0
A truck picks up bicycles, presumably to drop them off in areas where there is a shortage.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 29 km (18 miles)
Total: 2,796 km (1,736 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0