Foreigners can't stay here - 5,000 years of history - CycleBlaze

March 15, 2019 to March 16, 2019

Foreigners can't stay here

For some reason, some Chinese hotels only host mainland residents. I don't know how to filter those out went using Baidu Maps. So I expected to be turned away from a hotel at some point.

And it happened on Saturday for the first time. When I said that I can find a different hotel, they answered that they already called the police.

I thought that was strange. One foreigner I met said the police were really nice to tourists, so I stayed calm.

When they showed up, they insisted that I ride in the police car to the station while one officer would walk/ride my bicycle.

After numerous questions back and forth, I realised that no foreigners are allowed in the city! I was and still is very diplomatic and did not ask why.

So we agreed that I would take the next train North. Normally bicycles aren't allowed on the train, but an exception was made. The only item I had to leave behind was my pocket knife.

I reached the new city by midnight and  quickly found a hotel. But I struggled to sleep.

A floating house complete with 3 dogs
Heart 0 Comment 0
Gondola
Heart 0 Comment 0
First this dog chased me for nearly a 1 km
Heart 1 Comment 0
Which woke up this dog at the next smallholding and she blocked my way.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A farmer ploughing a terrace
Heart 0 Comment 0
Many of the bridges are beautiful
Heart 2 Comment 0
Another abandoned truck
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 178 km (111 miles)
Total: 949 km (589 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0