Fanjing Mountain - 5,000 years of history - CycleBlaze

March 19, 2019 to March 20, 2019

Fanjing Mountain

On Tuesday I rode to the base of Fanjing Mountain. I only got there at 2 pm, which was too late for any kind of ascent. So I checked into a hotel just down the street.

On Wednesday I tackled the mountain. Even though it's preseason, I queued an hour for the bus (They only allow their own minibuses on the narrow roads). Then it was 8000 steps to the top and 8000 steps back down again. (Most visitors skip 6600 of them by riding the cable car). The elevation change is similar to hiking the Grand Canyon, but this hike was slightly easier.

Along the path there were speakers playing an instrumental version of "The Sound of Silence".

Note to any cyclists feeling inspired to visit: There is also a Western Trail, where bicycles may work...

Very similar to New Balance shoes. Let's just say that trademarks in China is very, very complicated.
Heart 0 Comment 0
My $15 hotel room looks out over a crystal clear river
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
There were at least 3 sweepers on this 10 km private road.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Mushroom Rock
Heart 0 Comment 0
Cable car
Heart 0 Comment 0
Looking down on the other temple
Heart 0 Comment 0
Looking back at Mushroom Rock and the top temple.
Heart 0 Comment 0
He insisted on a photo with the only Westerner he has seen all day.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Beautiful Dharma
Heart 0 Comment 0
I started my descent just in time
Heart 0 Comment 0
This old man descended backwards wherever there was a hand railing. I copied him and it worked really well.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 82 km (51 miles)
Total: 1,167 km (725 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0