A new level of crazy - 5,000 years of history - CycleBlaze

A new level of crazy

If I can fly with one bike then I can fly with 2

Many cyclists start their bicycle tours at the airport, train or bus station: They assemble their bicycle right there at the airport and start riding, leaving the bicycle box behind.

On several occasions, I've come full circle: I rode with a bicycle box to the airport, train or bus station. Then I disassembled my bicycle and packed it in the box. (A bicycle box is notoriously unwieldy and the slightest bit of wind threatens to throw a rider off balance)

During my last week, I obtained a used bicycle box from a shop near my hotel. The bike mechanic removed my pedals to see if my bicycle would fit in the box. When he screwed my pedals back on, he used a heavy duty spanner and used a lot of force. I don't think he knows that steel parts have maximum specifications like torque. Nor does he know how it's calculated.

The next day, I bought a folding bicycle. (In China, they are 30% cheaper for the exact same model) So, on the day of the flight, I started by riding it to the airport and parking it there. Then I used the subway to return to my hotel.

Then I gathered the rest of my stuff and rode to the airport. 

Taking two bike boxes to the airport
Heart 0 Comment 0

There I got a trolley and gathered everything in a corner of the parking lot. One of the first jobs was to remove the pedals, but they were stuck. I tried a various positions to put as much force on the pedal spanner. Eventually I stepped or jumped on it. And the spanner broke !

I had only one option: Cycle back to the bicycle shop and let them remove the pedals. The only thing I could leave at the airport was the trolley and the folding bicycle. Anything else would most likely be removed by security or by cleaners.

Fortunately, the bike shop was only 7 km away. It took them only a minute to unscrew the pedals. With very little torque, I installed the pedals from the folding bicycle. Then I cycled back to the airport. This time the packing job went smoothly.

Qatar Airways took both bicycles without question as part of my economy class allowance.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0