“I don’t know, I just got the text” - 2 Good Blokes get lost in Europe - CycleBlaze

April 30, 2023

“I don’t know, I just got the text”

Horbranz to Immenstadt

Heart 1 Comment 0

Last night was mild and still. We rode a kilometre downhill in a T shirt to a near deserted restaurant and had wild garlic soup which tasted like broccoli, and tagliatelle with white asparagus. It was so good and cost less than a meal at the Bungendore pub. 

We got away by 9.30, a marked improvement on our previous efforts. It’s a nice spring morning with a lazy headwind that progressively strengthens throughout the day. What a classic day of cycling it was. Almost all of it on cycle paths with plenty of cyclists out as it’s the May Day long weekend. We climbed over 1,000 metres  with snow clad mountains rarely out of view and really varied countryside. So much better than yesterday’s ride.

There are cycle paths going everywhere. Even a Camino path to Santiago do Compastella
Heart 5 Comment 0
Despite the signposts we still got lost
Heart 5 Comment 2
Steve Miller/GrampiesIt must be your secret superpower!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Dennis LangleyI’ve been like this my whole life
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Heart 5 Comment 0

Sundays are always a struggle to find things open but we did find one bakery early on and loaded up. Lucky we did as we didn’t pass another open shop. 

Heart 4 Comment 0
Lunch with a view.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0

There’s plenty of time on a bike to have a good old yarn. I sometimes tend to ask too many questions mid story so John’s response in now “I don’t know, I just got the text” This comes from a story where a bloke was sitting with his partner (note: I didn’t say wife) and he gets a text saying that his cousin and his family have just been involved in a serious car accident. They (note: I didn’t say she) ask “Was he driving?”.  He responds “I don’t know, I just got the text”. “Are the kids alright?” “I don’t know, I just got the text””Were  they in the Kingswood or the Camira?”  “I don’t know, I just got the text”. So I know when to shut up when I hear that.

After a couple of big climbs we pass through a small mountain village with a big crowd of people that have turned up in cars, bikes and tractors. They’re enjoying the May Day festivities with local families and playing an olden day version of ten pin bowling called Kegel.

Note the pin repositioning technology.
Heart 5 Comment 0
This is Brigitte, who explained the game to us. The Kegel Hall is on the left behind the Tractors. I suspect the RBT could have had a field day if they had set up.
Heart 2 Comment 0

The last 20 kms was battling into a decent wind funnelling up the valley we’re following to our destination of Immenstadt. We were going to camp, but with rain forecast we opted for a nice little hotel in the centre of town.

Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0

Today's ride: 68 km (42 miles)
Total: 581 km (361 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 14
Comment on this entry Comment 0