Breaking up is hard to do - 2 Good Blokes get lost in Europe - CycleBlaze

May 4, 2023

Breaking up is hard to do

Achenkirch to Innsbruck

This weeks plan ( in theory)
Heart 0 Comment 0


Finally, after 2 weeks, we wake to a brilliant blue sky and a forecast of 21 degrees. It is a nippy two degrees when we cycle down the hill to a cafe nearby, but we are in a ski town and I’m itching to get down to wearing only one layer for the first time on this trip.

After the obligatory pastry the first hour is spent following the Achensee. I’ll let the pictures do the talking.

A tough day at the office.
Heart 7 Comment 0
The guy taking the photo cracked an Austrian one-liner that neither of us got but we laughed anyway.
Heart 8 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0


After a bit of climbing we literally dropped over a cliff, descending about 500 metres in 4 kilometres on a windy gravel path. We then reclaimed all of that in the next few hours  as we slowly ascended towards Innsbruck. Again we are on well maintained bike paths sometimes alongside the freeway but mostly far enough away to not hear the traffic.

We have both decided that Austrian cyclists are a weird bunch. There’s the old blokes dressed in full team kit dreaming of a spot on a Tour de France teamthat ride with their heads down in full race mode and don’t look at  or acknowledge you. I wonder if they know there are snow clad mountains  nearby. Then there’s the middle aged couples on matching e bikes that also don’t look at  or acknowledge you and the young guys dressed in black on racers that fly by you as they don’t acknowledge or look at you. Generally speaking Austrian cyclists don’t look at or acknowledge you if you get my drift.

Today I can confidently say that it is virtually impossible for me to get lost. We follow the one glacial valley all the way to Innsbruck. As long as I ride against the flow of the river next to us I should be right. John shakes his head as Ross has warned him that he should be most worried when I sound at my  confident best.

My new favourite! A mid morning hot chocolate whilst doing wordle.
Heart 7 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0

We’re both very much looking forward to a rest day. We’re pretty fatigued and my clothes (and probably me) need a good wash. The looming outskirts of Innsbruck are a welcome sight. The bike path has become increasingly crowded as people take advantage of a glorious spring day. 

This friendly gent didn’t look at or acknowledge me but did kindly point out the bike sign. Having seperate walking paths makes life so much easier.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Innsbruck at its finest.
Heart 6 Comment 0

Our apartment near the city centre is clean and modern and we take advantage of the full kitchen and have mushroom ravioli with salad and another Gruner Vetliner. Just as I’m relaxing after dinner I decide to top up my Orange mobile account. What a disaster! I try to access my account with the password I’ve recorded. Computer says no. I then try to reset my password. Computer says no. I then have another glass of Gruner Vetliner. I then get a kind email that I think is from my friend in the Paris office of Orange mobile.

Note the bottom email on the left. My pain is definitely not menstrual.
Heart 5 Comment 1
Bob KoreisThis is why I like my T-Mobile plan. y phone just works wherever I go. Don't know the cost comparison with European providers, but in the grand scheme of things it's minor.

But, damn, that Best Regards reads like an FU it's so cold.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago

That is it.  I’m off tomorrow to T mobile and getting a new SIM card.

Today's ride: 64 km (40 miles)
Total: 855 km (531 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 13
Comment on this entry Comment 0