2 days to go - 2 Good Blokes get lost in Europe - CycleBlaze

April 15, 2023

2 days to go

Maps, gear and geeky bike facts

All of life’s essentials for a 5 week trip
Heart 4 Comment 2
Pete CoxYou didn’t ask to borrow my stick? It only weighs 170 grams.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Dennis LangleyTo Pete Cox160 grams is my limit on sticks.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

Here’s the route for the first week. Thankfully the first few days are relatively flat but approaching Switzerland there are apparently a few hills. Who would have thought? 

Heart 4 Comment 0

I’ve boxed up my bike and have begun sorting through my gear. It’s a constant battle between comfort and weight, but for me comfort usually wins out. I love my chair (650grams), my nemo air mattress (850grams) and Worthers Originals (42grams)

Essential for climbing big hills
Heart 3 Comment 0

It seems that the accepted protocol on a bike blog like this is to list in excruciating detail every single component of the bike setup. With that in mind, but painfully aware of my lack of knowledge of these things, here goes:

My bike is a Jamis Renegade, made by an American cycle company that started in 1989 and released the Renegade as a gravel/ touring bike in 2016. Okay, so I copied that bit off the internet. The rest is mine

It has 2 wheels made by a Mrs Hunt which are meant to be very good by all reports. Personally the fact that they are round and roll effortlessly downhill is enough to impress me. My tyres are black and I decided to go tubeless which as it sounds means it doesn’t have an inner tube. Instead you put this really sticky goopy stuff in between the rim and the tyre and if you get a small puncture the goop seals it up. Unfortunately if you get a big puncture like I did on the Mawson Trail the goop sprays everywhere like a bubblegum fountain and you end up with it all over you as you desperately try to plug the leak whilst everyone around you doubles over in mirth. 

I have a Brooks saddle which I’ve had for over 10 years. It’s an English leather saddle that moulds to your bum after about 6 months, making it extremely comfortable, although the scars of the first 6 months still live with me both emotionally and physically. 

Mr Sram made my groupset. It took me many years to work out what groupset actually meant as I was a bit embarrassed to ask my knowledgeable cycling friends (Ross in particular) . It’s the collection of bits on the bike that make you stop and go. Chapeaux to Mr Sram. They work really well.

My new addition is a Hornet. It’s a miniature foghorn that is my defence against any wild dogs that might be tempted to chase me down in the wilds of Europe. It also doubles as a way for John to find me when I get lost.

Anyhoo, I can’t think of any other bits on a bike save the pedals but who really gives a shit about that? Okay if you must they’re Shimano SPD’s a fact I knew without even looking it up.  My shoes have a clover leaf shaped metal bit on the sole and they clip into the pedal. It’s benefit is you’re not just pushing down on the pedal but also can push up which is way more efficient. Also it means you can tap dance when you get off the bike. 

My first day on the bike is Wednesday, so until then……..

Works every time!
Heart 9 Comment 1
Liz DraperTravel safe Dennis 😘
Sorry about my blank message - technology gets me every time 😩
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Hopefully they have bridges in Europe
Heart 9 Comment 2
Jacquie GaudetIf you’re going through Sicily, don’t count on it! But the rest of Europe is pretty good in that regard, as far as I know.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Dennis LangleyTo Jacquie GaudetThanks. Not going that far south
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rate this entry's writing Heart 12
Comment on this entry Comment 12
Steve Miller/GrampiesFYI-weather's candies are readily available all over Europe.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rosie WindsorAll good to know Den- I'm with you in spirit all the way! Xx
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Dennis LangleyThanks Rosie! How’s the tennis going?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Dennis LangleyTo Steve Miller/GrampiesThank god for that! I was going to bring a supply. Enjoy your travels!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Eniko LukacsLooking forward to seeing you soon!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Steve Miller/GrampiesTo Dennis LangleyJust look in any supermarket-Lidl, Aldi, Intermarche, etc. Where do you fly in? Where are you going?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Liz DraperType your comment here
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Dennis LangleyTo Liz DraperGday Liz. Were you typing a comment or sending a message via mental telepathy?
Either way I love getting replies particularly when I’m lying in a tent on a wet windy night wondering what the hell im doing.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Dennis LangleyTo Steve Miller/GrampiesThanks. I fly into Paris and ride out of there.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Dennis LangleyTo Eniko LukacsMe too! I can’t wait!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Matthew HealeySince you’re doing all the hard work, we thought the least we could do was join up so we can make some cheeky comments along the way. Matthew is already worried about your sense of direction, surely Munich is north east/ east of Zurich as opposed to taking a westward route . Hope you get there safely. Enjoy, we will be looking forward to reading your entries.😉 Cathie and Matthew
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Dennis LangleyTo Matthew HealeyWest…East… you get there eventually. I’m looking forward to some witty banter from Matthew and some loving times from Cathy
Reply to this comment
1 year ago