Day 10: Rest Day in Seattle - 2 For the Road - CycleBlaze

July 13, 2017

Day 10: Rest Day in Seattle

On our first rest day in Seattle, we slept in! It was very nice not having to get up, pack and head off right away on the bikes. We had things to accomplish this day, though, which included more sorting, working on this journal and cleaning the bikes.

Heart 0 Comment 0

When all of our work was done, we took the light rail into Seattle to do a little shopping at the Pike Place Market. Growing up in Seattle, I’ve been to the market more times that I can count, but its always a pleasure to go back to this market with its busy, crowded atmosphere. Today we were on a mission, though. Earlier in the year, I had come to Seattle to spend a weekend with my sister, Barb. While shopping in the market, I had purchased a silver ring with a Celtic knot design. The purpose of this ring would be to serve as my wedding ring replacement as Jim and I travel so that I don’t have to worry about having my own ring lost or stolen. Now it was time to find a matching ring for Jim! I quickly led him to the little shop where I bought the first ring and we found exactly what we were looking for!

Heart 0 Comment 0

Next stop was Metsker Maps. Leslie had told us about this great little map store and we were impressed by the knowledge and service we received while there. We found a couple of maps of the Baja that would be perfect for us.

Having made our purchases, we left the market area and after a brief stop for some delicious gelato, made our way down the steps to the waterfront area where we were to meet up with family for a celebration/bon voyage dinner at Fisherman’s Warf Restaurant, where my nephew is a manager. Justin had arranged for us to have a whole area of the upstairs to ourselves and a wonderful evening ensued with lots of family stories and laughter. Thank you to everyone who came to give us such a lovely send off! And thank you to Justin, for putting it all together – it was a memorable evening to be sure!

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0