My Thoughts on the Katy Trail - Katy Trail in Two Days - CycleBlaze

My Thoughts on the Katy Trail

I was not a big fan of the trail. Immediately after finishing it, I told Joy that I would never, ever ride it again. The slow, soft "chat" surface was maddening over 230+ miles. The scenery, while pleasant enough, was very "samey", especially along the less interesting, super-flat eastern half of the trail.

I felt rushed trying to do it in two long days, and didn't have time to explore the little towns along the trail. Allowing three or four days would make the experience more enjoyable.

At the time I thought that riding the trail in two days was a slightly impressive accomplishment, but later I learned that a few people have ridden the entire thing in one day. That's crazy.

Before starting.
Heart 2 Comment 0
After 200 miles.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Despite my vow to never ride the Katy again, I did it again three years later, and then again four years after that

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 2
George HallInteresting adventure/misadventure as it were - and very good timing for me! I have been considering riding the Katy Trail - sort of a mixed interest, lukewarm desire to ride it - and your story confirms that it may not be that appealing for me after all. But I'll read your other 2 trips on it as well before I decide. On my Great Rivers South ride last fall I rode 4 miles on the Katy (Dutzow to Marthasville) - that small bit of the trail is part of the ACA route. It was fine, the gravel was fine and hard-packed on that section, and I had 38mm tires.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jeff LeeI think the Katy Trail is one of those things that's worth doing as part of a longer tour - for example, if someone is doing the TransAmerica Trail and they want to avoid the Ozarks in Missouri. Or on my trip last fall where I just wanted an easy way across Missouri and didn't want to spend time planning my own route.

But for experienced bicycle tourists like you and me, it's a pretty mild experience to justify traveling from far away to do it.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago