Swakopmund and Walvis Bay - via shuttle - Kim and Glory - It's in My Soul - CycleBlaze

May 3, 2022

Swakopmund and Walvis Bay - via shuttle

I’m I had thought I might ride my bike down to Swakopmund, but at the rate I am going (nowhere) I thought it best to take a shuttle so when my bike finally is ready, I can just head north.  Swakopmund is east, at the ocean.

It took forever to get there.  Initially I went to the Salty Jackal backpackers, but when I learned the bathroom was very inconvenient to the dorm location, I went and found something else.  Then, that guy was such a jerk, the next day I moved to a nice hotel with a "partial sea view."  See for yourself what to make of that view!   I decided it became affordable because in the US, this view would be way out of my budget.  Not here and it helped that the lady was super nice.

I spent one day walking around Swakopmund which has a very German feel to it.  I even walked out to the sand dunes just to see them.  The big thing I wanted to do was to kayak with the seals, but you have to go to Walvis Bay to do that.  It's about 30km away.  In the end, I decided I should just go spend a couple of days down there and I'm glad I did.  Rumor has it there are flamingos in the lagoon also.  I was not disappointed.  The last time I went looking for flamingos in Mexico, I got stung by a sting ray.  Thankfully, all I had to do was walk a couple of blocks and I could see them.  No wading in the water required.  I'm in flamingo heaven!

The owner of the B&B where I'm staying offers private tours in which I would see the seals on land, but so much more as well.  I ended up going with his tour and it was a wise choice indeed!  It was part E-ticket ride at Disneyland!  Who knew we'd be driving up and down the dunes?!  I may have screamed a little in jest, "Omg, we're going to die," as he sped up the first one.  Only I would be concerned about "what if a car is coming up the other side."

I did get a little car sick from all the bumps along the way.  We drove on the beach right along the ocean.  The dunes extend right down to the sea.  It was exceptionally windy which creates sharp edges at the top of the dunes.  This makes driving up and over them dangerous as you are more likely to get stuck and/or end up rolling down the hill -- not on your tires!  We did go up in the dunes to get a fantastic view overlooking Sandwich harbor.   However, because of the winds, we had to go back the same way we came in as the danger of getting stuck in the dunes was real.  We found out in the morning that another tour group had gotten stuck for hours!

Warning:  excessive photos below.  It's so hard to choose!

Always enjoyable to take a walk along the pier
Heart 1 Comment 0
Big waves
Heart 1 Comment 0
I see sand dunes in the distance. I'll be walking to them another day.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Very German looking
Heart 0 Comment 0
What's not to like about this decoration
Heart 1 Comment 0
Glory posing for a sunset
Heart 4 Comment 0
And me enjoying the sunset
Heart 0 Comment 0
I think I rather enjoy this partial sea view from my balcony
Heart 1 Comment 0
Wildlife sighting! Guinea fowl
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Had fun trying to catch the splash of the waves
Heart 0 Comment 0
Swakopmund
Heart 0 Comment 0
Kids cooling off on a hot day
Heart 1 Comment 0
Lighthouse
Heart 2 Comment 0
Crystal museum gift shop. Oh, if only I could take these with me! So pretty!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Another German influenced building
Heart 0 Comment 0
This sign cracked me up!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Yep, those are camels. It's a 4x4 outdoor adventure center including camel rides, but I think these ones escaped! Ha ha
Heart 0 Comment 0
Where the sand meets the sea
Heart 0 Comment 0
I found the sand dunes
Heart 0 Comment 0
I was amazed. Love the contrast of the blue sky against the dunes
Heart 2 Comment 0
I love this pic of my tracks
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Even the ripples caused by the wind are soothing
Heart 0 Comment 0
Didn't even have to move off my bed for tonight's sunset picture. (Note to self: don't get use to this!)
Heart 2 Comment 0
Glory climbing up, up and away
Heart 1 Comment 0
And happy the place next to my hotel does pedicures! Not easy to find here in Namibia (as compared to the USA)
Heart 0 Comment 2
Donna carrLuxury! What happened to the before and after pic🤣🤣
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kim JohnsonTo Donna carrha ha ha. The toes actually didn't look too bad because I had a pedicure in the brief time I was in the USA. Had to look good for my arrival in Africa. Ha ha
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
And yet another sunset from the pier with some wave action. It's almost like I'm in an action/adventure movie!
Heart 1 Comment 0

Time to move on to Walvis Bay photos....

Graceful flamingos set against the ugly industrial city in the background. #contrast
Heart 0 Comment 0
The flamingos are having a bad hair day. Especially the ones in the distance. All their feathers are getting ruffled by the very strong wind!
Heart 1 Comment 0
My first flamingo sightings did not have the best lighting for pictures, but I love them anyways!
Heart 0 Comment 0
I think in a former life, flamingos were ostriches
Heart 2 Comment 0
Some are pinker than others
Heart 1 Comment 0
Pretty in pink!
Heart 2 Comment 0
A dog scared them all and it was mass exodus
Heart 1 Comment 0
And yes, flamingos can fly!
Heart 2 Comment 0
How's my hair?
Heart 5 Comment 0
Now who's having a bad hair day?
Heart 4 Comment 0
The flamingos huddle together for warmth.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
There are flamingos behind me
Heart 0 Comment 1
My tour guide at Bella Luna B&B
Heart 0 Comment 0
Good morning cutie lie
Heart 1 Comment 0
Making a dash for the water
Heart 0 Comment 0
Shipwreck
Heart 0 Comment 0
Is that so?!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Need a special permit to access this area
Heart 0 Comment 0
Driving along the beach
Heart 0 Comment 0
The views :)
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
It was son wi day I had to hold on to my hat
Heart 1 Comment 0
We’re going where?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Sandwich Harbor
Heart 0 Comment 0
One of the first houses from way back when. Their plans to build a harbor didn’t work out so well as transport through the dunes was an issue
Heart 0 Comment 0
The pink lake. It’s all salt (at a salt production area)
Heart 0 Comment 0
This salt is headed for Europe
Heart 1 Comment 0
I walked very carefully to the edge thinking it was snow. Had to remind myself I was walking on salt!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0