Kasane day II - an impromptu safari - Kim and Glory - It's in My Soul - CycleBlaze

July 16, 2022

Kasane day II - an impromptu safari

An adventure with Mercedes

I.  Can't.  Even.

I had the breakfast buffet at the hotel and was just sitting relaxing.  Coincidentally, in comes Mercedes (Jamie Lee Curtis' twin) who I met a few days ago at another lodge a few days ago.  I was thinking about going to another campsite she was going to as well as it being recommended by another cyclist.  She said one road in was really sandy (not bikeable) so we'd go check out the other road, plus I wanted to see the campsite to see if I felt safe enough.  Rumor has it, animals can wander through.  Gulp.

Nothing quite went as planned (the campsite owners wouldn't let us in to see the place).  That was crazy as Mercedes was coming for three nights and explained the situation.  Poor customer service, but it worked out better in the end.  We got an unexpected safari experience.  Mercedes went to drive around the back side of the property and we saw one lone elephant in the distance.  And then it just kept getting better and better.  We saw warthogs, kudus, amazing closeups of giraffes and ELEPHANTS - up close and personal!

We met a couple who owned a lodge and they said I definitely shouldn't bike down here anyways because there are lions.  I had already vetoed camping based on the ladies demeanor.  When we had come in on the main road, which is the one most cyclists take through Botswana, I thought, "That doesn't look too bad."  Ha.  Things changed on the way back.  We saw three groups of elephants close to the road.  Nope, not for me.  But here's the absolute best part.  Driving up the deep sand 4x4 route and all of sudden I see elephants not 20 feet from us.  I was so shocked I could only exclaim, "Oh oh ooooooohhhhh."  Apparently, I lose my words in moments of shock and awe.  They were right next to us and appeared out of nowhere.  Mercedes immediately stopped and turned off the engine.  What an incredible experience and there was even a tiny baby too.  Cuteness overload!  Oh, and you know the raptor scenes in Jurassic Park where you only see the bushes moving? Ya, it felt like that as we watched the bushes moving before an elephant would appear.

We stopped at the lodge of the couple we ran into on the way back just to check it out.  Very peaceful and serene.  We enjoyed a drink while watching some cute little banded mongooses.  Do you say mongooses or are they mongeese?  Ha ha.  What a fun day and so thankful I ran into Mercedes and we had our little adventure.

 

Mercedes introduced me to a minty (non alcoholic) drink and we ended up on a grand adventure! Thanks Mercedes!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Warthogs
Heart 0 Comment 0
What's the wildlife being watched here? ha ha
Heart 0 Comment 0
Kudu family
Heart 0 Comment 0
Drinking water is like a yoga workout!
Heart 0 Comment 0
I love the trees/landscape and....why did the giraffe cross the road?
Heart 1 Comment 0
We watched this guy for quite awhile. We'd been told there was a whole herd around, but only found this guy.....
Heart 1 Comment 0
"Whatchyou looking at Willis?"
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Butt shot, but (no pun intended) you gotta love how they blend into one very strange looking giraffe
Heart 0 Comment 0
Out for a little stroll
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Niiiiiiiiiiiice elephannnnnnnnt
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
And this is why I did not want to bicycle the famed "elephant highway" through Botswana!
Heart 0 Comment 0
My camera died, so this is from my phone, but see the very tiny baby elephant?! omg, soooooo cute!
Heart 1 Comment 0
It looked better in person, but enjoying a drink as the sun starts to set. What a fantastic day! My heart is content.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Rich FrasierMemories for a lifetime! Congratulations on a great day! You are so brave to be doing this.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kim JohnsonTo Rich FrasierThanks Rich. I'm having so much fun (for the most part) and Africa is way better than I ever could have dreamed. Now, if I could just get my blog caught up!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago