Intro - Cycling in Thailand North to South - CycleBlaze

Intro

For those who haven't met us in previous journals, let me introduce my husband Janos and myself:

Janos, setting out for a short winter outing
Heart 1 Comment 0
Me, close to home, in Munich's centrally located park, the Englischer Garten
Heart 1 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltGood to see you all like to bike even in the winter/snow! :)
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

We feel the need to get away from ice and snow and sub-freezing temperatures and grey days and sloth.

Janos and I have cycled in Thailand before. It could possibly be one of the most pleasant countries in Asia for cycling. The people are friendly, there are a variety of landscapes, the busier roads almost always have a wide shoulder, hotels and guest houses are inexpensive, the food is good. I don't look forward to the hassle of flying from Munich to Bangkok, however.

We are flying with Air Berlin which has a favorable policy for transporting bikes. If you purchase a so-called Top Bonus Service Card you can, in addition to other benefits, check in up to 30 kg baggage free of charge as well as one additional item of sports baggage up to 30 kg free of charge (e.g. bicycle). The annual fee for the card is €59. Our Bike Fridays are already waiting patiently in their suitcases.

I must admit, if we had decent weather for cycling in Europe in the winter months, I wouldn't feel tempted to travel half way around the globe to get on my bike. Yes, I like Thailand - but I love Europe.

At any rate, we are looking forward to a relaxing stay and enjoyable cycling in warm weather. Our plans aren't ambitious. If the roads get too steep or the distances between guest houses too great, we are willing to take buses. Why do we have Bike Fridays, anyway, if we don't fold them occasionally?

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0