Great Gear: Favorite Discoveries - To France the Long Way - CycleBlaze

Great Gear: Favorite Discoveries

I am indebted to the forums and reviews I found on the crazyguyonabike website for much useful information. I never would have dreamed that there could be such a thing as waterproof socks, or an inexpensive way to upgrade my sunglasses to bifocals or cups and plates that can be made as flat as a sheet of paper. All of these articles have either been reviewed or mentioned in forums on this site. I'm just confirming, from my own personal experience, what others have written. Many thanks to all those who have contributed their knowledge and experience.

My favorite discoveries:

Avon Skin-So-Soft: Very effective as a mosquito repellent, I had no insect bites the whole trip and I didn't have to worry about smearing poison all over my skin. It also kept my skin from drying out so dreadfully after being exposed to sun, wind and rain every day.

Keen sandals: Best shoes for cycling I've ever had. And I don't even use the cleats! I know, some people are going to stop reading my journal after that confession. What kind of cyclist is that?

Merino wool shirt: Perfect for cooler days. I wore it a lot and it really doesn't get stinky. Also good for nights in the tent when the temperature drops.

Optx: Stick-on bifocals for reading, removable and reusable; just add water and they stick. They are supposed to fit all glasses, which wasn't quite true since they wouldn't stick to my clear cycling glasses, still they were great for the sunglasses. I could wear my non-prescription cycling sunglasses with the Optx lens and read maps and my GPS. Previously I constantly had to switch from sunglasses to reading glasses which was a big nuisance (and the reason Janos thought I didn't know how to read maps).

Orikaso folding plates and cups: They hardly take up any space in your pannier and weigh almost nothing, are easy to fold and ready for use in a second.


Sealskinz socks: These socks are waterproof and windproof. Worn with Keen sandals, which are largely water-resistant as they don't get soaked like shoes, my feet stayed dry in the heaviest of downpours. They're expensive but in my opinion well worth it.

Trangia cooker: A great stove. The wind can't blow out the flame, it's very stable and it's so simple that nothing can really go wrong. Fill in the denatured alcohol/meths and ignite.

Silk sleeping bag liner: A very efficient upgrade for your sleeping bag on cool nights or a light cover for hot nights. It's light, packs to a tiny little package, and silk feels good.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0