Arras - Albert - To France the Long Way - CycleBlaze

July 27, 2009

Arras - Albert

Again a wimpy day. Obviously we're tired, but not the kind of tired a good night's sleep can remedy. Looking back I see we probably needed a week's rest from touring. But we don't realize it and push, or rather limp, on. Our enthusiasm is waning and we don't even bother to look at Arras, where we spent the night.

We now have pretty countryside of with some gentle hills which we appreciate after weeks of flat riding in northern Germany and The Netherlands. The sun stays with us until noon.

In spite of the lovely countryside, we are dragging our heels and don't ride very far today.
Heart 0 Comment 0
In the Somme province of France, one of the largest battles of WWI was fought. More than 1.5 million casualties were suffered by the forces involved. It is understood to have been one of the bloodiest military operations ever recorded.
Heart 0 Comment 1
I know of nowhere in western Europe where there are so many quiet roads as in France.
Heart 1 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltQuiet roads are wonderful!!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

When we reach Albert, it starts to rain and after a long lunch stop and even longer procrastination, we decide to end the day here. Albert is remembered today as the site of the Battle of the Somme in World War I.

In Albert
Heart 0 Comment 0
Town Hall in Albert
Heart 0 Comment 0

Not much of a journal today and not many pictures. The number of photos is usually a barometer for my enthusiasm. When I am excited about what I see, I can hardly put my camera away. When I'm tired, I'm not inspired.

Today's ride: 48 km (30 miles)
Total: 2,187 km (1,358 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0