Cornucopia - 12X26 - CycleBlaze

September 18, 2021

Cornucopia

Today was the first of two days focused on the Farmington Heritage Canal Trail that runs 60 miles from Yale University to the Connecticut-Massachusetts border.  On a beautiful Saturday in an attractive urban environment I expected to see a fair number of trail users.  I was not disappointed.  There was truly a cornucopia of users...walkers, runners, cyclists, skateboarders, scooters, one wheelers, in-line skaters, roller skaters, and one gentleman roller skiing.  The only thing missing was a unicyclist and we saw him yesterday on the Walk Above the Hudson.  Toward the end of today's 43 mile ride I even saw a group of 15-20 Boy Scouts out for a hike.

Laura had planned to ride out with me for a distance and return to the truck.  That plan fell by the wayside as we looked for the New Haven trailhead.  We circled around looking for a trailhead and parking.  We eventually located a road crossing and decided to call it a win.  Parking was an entirely other issue.  All the parking in the vicinity of the trail was "permit only".  Laura decided she was uncomfortable searching for parking.  Off I went and would catch up with her in Farmington.

There were lots of twists and turns getting out of New Haven but thankfully the trail was well marked.

Impressive markers in the vicinity of Yale.
Heart 1 Comment 0
As the trail moved further away from the start, the markers were no less impressive.
Heart 1 Comment 0

As I indicated, there were lots of trail users on this late summer Saturday but there were some opportunities to experience the trail for its solitude.

The cornucopia lessened about 9 miles outside of New Haven.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I was excited to see a lone remnant of the historic Farmington Canal.

Farmington Canal locks.
Heart 1 Comment 0

As I hit the 28 mile mark I was not surprised to see a "trail ends" sign.  I knew there was a 8 mile road ride to reconnect with the trail.  I had printed off a route map but after talking with someone at the trail end who told me the traffic was "stiff" and that he had only once attempted the road ride, I pulled on my phone and dialed up GPS. I was right, it was much easier to be talked thru the twists and turns than to try and consult a map.  Perhaps the oddest thing about this road ride was that it took me directly past a hotel I had stayed at every Thursday night for 4 years when I worked for Johnson & Johnson in the late 80's and early 90's.  I could almost taste the take out Chinese food that was my standard fare.

As I came into Southington I saw this ad for a local watering hole next to the trail.  I'm sure you've heard about this activity and wondered if it truly existed...apparently it does.  Beer and darts maybe...beer and axe throwing...hmm.

I will defer.
Heart 3 Comment 0

After reconnecting with the trail I met Laura in Tunxis Meade Park and we agreed I would continue riding and reconnect in Avon 5-6 miles down trail.  That short addition gave me an opportunity to get a view of the Farmington River.

Farmington River. Frequently used by canoers and kayakers but none in sight as I passed.
Heart 1 Comment 0

The pan for tomorrow is to complete the Farmington Canal Trail and do a couple of rides in Massachusetts before heading further north.  Stay tuned.

Today's ride: 41 miles (66 km)
Total: 161 miles (259 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0