Pagosa Springs, CO - Del Norte, CO: Climbing the Big Boy. - Wolf Creek Loop 2010 - CycleBlaze

August 10, 2010

Pagosa Springs, CO - Del Norte, CO: Climbing the Big Boy.

Last night we sat on these benches after dinner and chatted. This morning I wanted a photo, but the guys hadn't had their first cup of coffee . . . . they don't look so lively.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I am out the door to start the challenge of climbing Wolf Creek Pass. Jacinto - well, he's obviously not in a hurry . . . . .
Heart 0 Comment 0
Doug is ready to roll. We have had such a fun trip. I thought we would grow webs between our toes from the rain and we've hardly had a drop the entire trip. The roads were good, the cars were courteous, the climbing was challenging - but didn't kill us, the riding companions were the best. Darn. Too bad we're at the end of the tour.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I typically wet down the kerchief around my neck to keep me cool. The temperatures were perfect this trip - I did not wet my kerchief once. Nor did I have to put on my rain jacket. All of this time I've said touring in August during monsoon season was a bad idea. I may have to rethink that one.
Heart 0 Comment 0
An amusing sign on the way out of town. I was very startled the first time I saw deer droppings for sale. They are really chocolate covered peanuts. Good marketing, eh?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Here we go - getting closer to climbing Grandpa.
Heart 0 Comment 0
In 2009 Moni Neville brought chalk on the Slum to write messages with. Ken continued the tradition this year. He and Doug left Jacinto and me much appreciated cues for turns on the first day. I left Jacinto the time so he would know how quickly he was gaining on me each day.
Heart 0 Comment 0
If there was ever a pass that should have an elevation sign at the top - Wolf Creek is the one. I have a mental block about Wolf Creek. I first rode it back in 2002 or so.I totally did not know what I was getting into and bonked half way up. It was not a pretty sight. I rode it again the next year, fully self contained with John Orlowski. We took our time and I arrived at the top, still coherent. But my original experience causes me to approach this Granddaddy climb with plenty of respect. Being rational about the pass - it is a long, continuous eight mile climb at about 6% the entire distance. It doesn't get much steeper, but you never get a break either. Definitely, at the end of the climb you've done a good day's work.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I had told the guys at dinner that this was a big climb and everyone climbs at their own pace, don't hang with me, do your own thing. I didn't see anyone all morning. I left Jacinto a couple of chalk signs. I thought he would catch me before the top, but he didn't. Doug and Ken weren't at the top either, but it was windy. I didn't see anyone until Jacinto caught me just before South Fork. We saw Ken at the convenience store, where he used the bicycle parking. Jacinto and I ate a huge box of Mexican food leftovers from the night before then the three of us took off together for Del Norte. Doug had been behind Ken, but must have passed him while Ken was in the Visitor's Center.The road surface the entire day was perfect. Nice pavement, big shoulders, not too much traffic. Best of all, we had a very strong tailwind. Good thing as I was burping Mexican food the first few miles towards Del Norte. It is a good payback to have such an extended downhill off of a pass. We actually rode 23 miles from Pagosa to the top, then coasted the next 37 miles. I exaggerate - but only slightly. This was the perfect finish to a perfect tour.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This photo is for Steve and John P. from the 2010 Slum. Guys, do you recognize this bench in South Fork where we hid from the torrential rain?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Our celebratory dinner at a Mexican buffet in Alamosa. Great food, great people. Can't wait to tour with you next summer guys.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 60 miles (97 km)
Total: 225 miles (362 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0