Day 53: Freezeout Lakes to Dupuyer - Western North America - 2005 - CycleBlaze

July 9, 2005

Day 53: Freezeout Lakes to Dupuyer

Got up at sunrise. A big, hazy, cloudy sky was just to the west - promising cooler weather. It was a lovely ride into Choteau - gentle and sweet.

Highway 89 Crossing the Freezeout Lakes Refuge
Heart 0 Comment 0

I stocked up on groceries and did the laundry thing so I wouldn't stink so much. I picked up my general delivery mail at the post office. And lo and behold, there was a big old box from Mizz Cook. Turns out that she sent me some Oreos to keep me pedalling.

Choteau Courthouse
Heart 0 Comment 0
A Quiet Morning in Downtown Choteau
Heart 0 Comment 0

I lit out for Bynum - the sky was now overcast and there was a light headwind, but it wasn't even 60 degrees. What a change from yesterday! In fact, I got a little chilly. After a Coke and a chat with the locals at the Bynum bar I ran into some serious headwinds AND had big roller coaster hills. I didn't add any layers for fear of getting too sweaty. So it was cold going - and slow going, too. I finally got to Dupuyer and had no illusions about going any further. The little cafe is now run by a young couple with two small children. They just reopened it and their menu is VERY basic, but they are nice folks struggling to make it in rural Montana. I hope they do.

Cloudy and Cool with the Front Range in the Distance
Heart 0 Comment 0

Three Danish guys on motorcycles were finishing up a pizza. They had passed me a good while back and commented that it was pretty chilly for them as well. Then the power went out - probably the wind - and I had to wait until they got it back on to order. There's a little park right next to Dupuyer Creek where I pitched my tent. Fortunately, there are trees to the west that shielded my campsite from the wind because I listened to it blow all night long.

Today's ride: 47 miles (76 km)
Total: 2,820 miles (4,538 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0