The year in birds, and other animals - Winterlude 2023 - CycleBlaze

December 31, 2023

The year in birds, and other animals

For those that were following along this time last year, you might recall that I made a new-year’s resolution to see how many distinct species I could identify in the year ahead.  As a reminder, here’s what prompted me to this and what my hopes were at the time:

I’m still slowly working through Birding Without Borders, a book I’m gradually becoming less taken with as the author races around the world racking up his world record bird count.  He’s in the fourth quarter now, setting off for Asia before finishing up in Australia and New Zealand.  It must be in the back of the mind though because while I’m plotting out a ride for the day it suddenly occurs to me that it’s New Year’s Day and I could have my own Big Year and keep tally on how many distinct bird species I see this year.  I make a New Year’s resolution to keep track this year, a resolution that seems like I should be able to hold myself too.   I won’t be seeing any six thousand species, that’s for sure - but we’ll be covering a pretty diverse range of regions and environments this year so the opportunity is there for a good number.   Even with my undisciplined approach of just taking note when something interesting shows up I might compile a pretty decent list.  What’s reasonable to hope for from an undisciplined dabbler like me?  150?  200?  250?  We’ll see.

So how did I do?  Reasonably well enough, though not quite as well as I hoped.  Earlier in the year I thought I might even hit 300, but 224 feels at least respectable.  And actually, I’m claiming 225 because there were at least a dozen unmistakeable Eurasian jays seen, invariably when flying across the road and into the trees too rapidly for any hope of a shot.  

The effort has definitely made me a better birder though - there are dozens of birds that I can recognize on sight from a distance now.  And I ended up with a portrait gallery I’m pretty pleased with:

Sound track: Solidado, by Toshiko Akiyoshi

I thoroughly enjoyed this, and have decided that I’ll keep count next year too.  I’ll take a lower-key approach this year though, posting fewer photos and crediting species I see but don’t have a photo for.  I’ll probably just include summary notes from time to time of all the new species I’ve seen since the last report.  Among other things I’ll be curious to see how the numbers hold up, because the dismal truth is that bird numbers are crashing worldwide in response to habitat destruction, climate change and other environmental threats.

So you don’t think we’re too one-dimensional here though, we’re also interested in other branches of the animal kingdom.  Here are some of our favorite encounters from the last twelve months.  Our family, and other animals.

Last winter: with Janice at El Rio Park; Wendy along Rillito Wash; Susan at our place in Tucson; and Amber, Rich and the Fitches in Napa.
Heart 5 Comment 2
Wendy BeaudoinHappy New Year Scott and Rachael! I’m thrilled to be included in your year-end photos. I am heading to the Carlsbad area shortly to spend three months checking out the cycling along the California coast, and I am looking forward to following you two on your travels in 2024.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Wendy BeaudoinWe’re pretty pleased about seeing you in there too, Becky. It’s too bad we missed you in Tucson this winter, but maybe we’ll cross paths when we head north at the end of the month.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Spring in Italy: Rachel and Patrick in Puglia; Al and Jacquie on Monte Pellegrino; and Suzanne and Janos in Bassano del Grappa.
Heart 4 Comment 1
Jacquie GaudetIt was great riding with you two! Who knows, it might happen again someday.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Becky in Revelstoke; Lyle (off-frame), Kirsten and Levi near Lake Louise; and Ken and Judy in Tudela.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Kelly and Jacinto in Tucson, Kathleen and BJ in Half Moon Bay, and the HAC group.
Heart 3 Comment 0
January: Praying mantis, on the door of our casita in Tucson. I almost put my hand on it when I opened the door at the start of our ride with Susan.
Heart 1 Comment 0
March: held up by a sheep drive, southern Sicily.
Heart 1 Comment 0
March: held up by some dogs this time, in southern Sicily.
Heart 1 Comment 0
April: Italian wall lizard, southern Puglia.
Heart 1 Comment 0
July: Mountain goat, Icefields parkway.
Heart 1 Comment 0
July: Bighorn sheep, Icefields Parkway.
Heart 1 Comment 0
October: In the Arab Barrio, Calatayud.
Heart 2 Comment 0
October: Chamois, east of Teruel.
Heart 1 Comment 0
December: Western fence lizard, Pescadero.
Heart 1 Comment 0
December: Coyote, Death Valley.
Heart 1 Comment 0
December: Bobcat, Rillito Wash.
Heart 1 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltStill amazing to me...
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
December: Rock squirrel, Tucson.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 12
Comment on this entry Comment 6
Rich FrasierScott and Rachael - you've had a great year, and it's been really fun following along. Hope your 2024 is full of more adventures, friends, and even more bike touring!!
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Suzanne GibsonWow, wonderful collection of collections, Scott!
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Rich FrasierThanks, Rich. We’re pretty optimistic about what’s planned for the coming year. With luck maybe we’ll see a shot of you in here next year.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Suzanne GibsonPretty great year in spite of our health issues, alright. Thanks to you and Janos for enriching it for us!
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Gregory GarceauI remember almost all of those wildlife photos individually. Seeing them all together here somehow makes me even MORE impressed with your year.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Janice BranhamWhat a beautiful collection of bird pics. I love the video, and all the other creatures.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago