News flash - Winterlude 2023 - CycleBlaze

January 16, 2024

News flash

It’s laundry day, and Rachael asks me to pull together my dirty clothes to help her make a load.  Easily done, as I’ve been changing my clothes more frequently than usual lately since we have company.  All three of the new shirts I bought need washing, so I’m left with just the one I was left with when my suitcase was stolen.

I haven’t worn this shirt for at least a couple of weeks, and certainly not since the last time the wash was done.  When I put it on I’m surprised when one of my missing socks pops out of its sleeve, and just like that I have another matching pair!  Hooray!

______________

In other news, it became apparent during the night that I was right - a 45 mile bike ride probably wasn’t the ideal treatment program for my new cold, and I’ve relapsed.  After a restless night interrupted by frequent hacking spasms it was clear this morning that I shouldn’t be getting out on my bike today.

So, not smart - but things will have to get a lot worse before I regret going on that terrific ride yesterday.  Without that I’d have missed those howling coyotes!

Rachael and Susan are both ready for some time off the saddle themselves, so they spend their day on a hike up Sentinel Peak, aka “A” Mountain.  Some pics:

Their route began by walking through El Presidio Park and past the old city hall, one of the highlights in downtown Tucson.
Heart 0 Comment 0
We hadn’t noticed before that there’s a modest crested seguaro in the park.
Heart 4 Comment 0
There’s a paved road that spirals up to the top of Sentinal Peak. If you’re here in the morning or the right day it’s a nice walk or ride because it’s not open to cars yet.
Heart 2 Comment 0
many of the cacti on the south slope of the hill are grotesquely deformed like this. I wonder if there’s some environmental cause.
Heart 3 Comment 1
marilyn swettSaguaros are my favorite cactus. Between their incredible lifespans, unusual arms and just their "I'm the King of the desert" form, I just love them! It is interesting that scientists really don't know for sure how some of their arms and shapes are formed. That big one in the foreground is a good example. Just what was happening in their world when the arms were formed?
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Climbing toward the lookout shelter at the summit.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
The views from Sentinel Peak really are wonderful. We should drive up for the sunset some evening.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Modeling the latest in elite outdoor wear.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 0
It’s “A” Mountain.
Heart 3 Comment 0
I’m not the only one that can bring home a bird shot. Rachael and Susan spotted this guy just a few blocks from home. I don’t remember seeing on e so close in before.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0

For myself, I’m feeling well enough that I decide to drive out to Silverbell Lake and possibly Springwater again, hoping to spot one of the few birds I’m still holding out hope for - in particular, a night heron.  One’s been spotted daily recently at both places, so it’s just a matter of timing and luck for me too see one myself, like I did just before the end of the year.

I’m only out of the car barely two minutes though when I look up in the sky and see a Harris’s hawk circling above the lake a few times before disappearing in the distance.  No night heron today, but a bird’s a bird and they both weigh the same on my YTD list so I’m quite happy.

#70: Harris’s hawk
Heart 3 Comment 0

Mission accomplished, I could have just turned around then and gone home and back to bed, but I held on long enough to complete a slow walk around the lake before deciding I’d exerted myself enough.  No additional new birds turned up, but there’s always something of interest to report.

Ladder-backed woodpecker.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Turtle!
Heart 1 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltAnother invasive red eared slider.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Gregory GarceauThat long, brown trail behind him made me think it was an otter.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
I give up. A giant M&M? A babybel cheese? What’s your guess?
Heart 5 Comment 3
Steve Miller/GrampiesA very large Rosehip?
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Steve Miller/GrampiesProbably more likely than either of my ideas. I don’t think ducks like chocolate.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Gregory GarceauDefinitely a Babybel cheese. Or a red M&M.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
I was amazed that this guy was so nonchalant about my presence nearby. I’m barely twenty feet away.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Abert’s towhee.
Heart 1 Comment 0
A tarantula hawk wasp, I think. It’s a good thing I didn’t get too close, if it is. They allegedly deliver one of the most painful stings in the world - strong enough to paralyze a tarantula, which they then drag home and feed to the kids.
Heart 4 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltGood thing they are not aggressive! I'd probably have been a victim if they were.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Bill ShaneyfeltOnly if you’re a tarantula, apparently.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 0