Along the Columbia - Winterlude 2021 - CycleBlaze

March 5, 2022

Along the Columbia

Nine days out now, and we’re starting to get back in the rhythm.  The weather is cooperative so we’re out on the bikes again, heading north along the Willamette on our way to Marine Drive.  Our mapped goal is a forty mile out and back to the Glenn Jackson Bridge; but Rachael’s secret goal is to pad the ride just enough to round up to her magic number, 42.

We’re both stiff and just a bit sluggish from yesterday’s outing and are glad we haven’t chosen a more challenging ride for today.  Hills will have to wait a few days until we whip ourselves back into better condition.  

It’s slow going the first mile or two as we bike along the waterfront weaving between walkers, bikers, skate boarders, and those insane electric unicycles.  It’s a bright day, it’s the weekend, the Saturday Market is on, and crowds are starting to return to the scene.  It looks like the cherry trees might just be on the verge of budding out, and folks are already standing around taking selfies beside them. In this part of Portland anyway the city feels like it’s finally starting to work its way back to normal.  

It’s primarily a riding day and I don’t plan on taking many photos at all, but a sequoia up ahead on the crest of Willamette Bluff catches my attention.  Four or five crows are putting on an aerial show, soaring straight up from the tree like fireworks and then diving down into it again.  Obviously there’s some hawk harassment underway, and soon enough he’s dislodged and soars off across the river.

A perpetual drama. I wonder if the poor red-tails ever win a round?
Heart 0 Comment 0

Rachael doesn’t stop until she reaches the Glenn Jackson Bridge - not even at the traditional first stop at the facilities at Broughton Beach.  She surprises me by saying she’s continuing on without stopping today, and is good until we pass by on the return.  She’s gotten better at planning ahead with her fluid intake, obviously.

The ride east up the river is a bit of a slog, with a noticeable headwind retarding us.  I don’t mind though, anticipating an easy ride home once we turn back.  And, the river is full of birds today - there must be thousands of scaups in long rafts offshore, and a smattering of grebes and mergansers.  I’m slowed down by this of course, so I’m still about a half mile from the bridge when I see Rocky rolling back my way.

It’s a beautiful day to be on the river.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Some greater scaups I think, although they could be lessers too.
Heart 4 Comment 0
I like this shot - in the reflection she almost looks like she’s got the beak of a pelican.
Heart 3 Comment 0

We converse by the side of the trail for a minute.  Rocky needs to pick up another mile or two somewhere, so here’s one possibility.  She could double back and ride to the bridge with me, or she could wait until we get to town and tack on some distance along the waterfront.  Finally we decide to just head toward home.  She charges off ahead, with the agreement that I’ll catch up at Broughton Beach when she stops there for lunch.

I take my time, still transfixed a bit by the sky and its reflection on the river.  And the scaups, whose numbers seem to have grown since I passed in the other direction.  Suddenly they start taking flight upriver in large groups, a hundred or so birds at a time.  It’s quiet enough that I can hear the collective slapping of their wings against the water as they take flight.  Looking ahead, I see the catalyst - a small pleasure boat powering its way upriver in their direction.

Image not found :(
Scaup City.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

I’m loving the remaining miles to Broughton Beach, where Rachael is just finishing her lunch when I arrive.  Or, I’m loving it until I catch up with that long cloud ahead and suddenly the sun is gone, it’s chilly, and I’m wondering whether I should stop and haul my jacket out of the pannier.  The big disappointment comes when I pass out from beneath the cloud though.  I’m back in the sun, but the wind has shifted and now it’s a headwind again.  Everyone’s favorite ride plan, headwinds coming and going.  Once we leave the Columbia and bike south though it’s our friend again and we put in easy miles the rest of the way back to downtown.

By the time we cross the river on the Broadway Bridge the wind is seriously blowing.  As expected, Rachael continues upriver a ways when we near home and I turn up Columbia.  I could continue with her of course, but what’s the point?  I’m over a mile shy of her already from stopping short of the Glenn Jackson Bridge.  I’ll never make 42, so I’m fine with settling for 39.  Tomorrow though, for sure.

Heading home.
Heart 3 Comment 0

Today's ride: 42 miles (68 km)
Total: 2,397 miles (3,858 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Patrick O'Hara>Lovely entry as usual. Your logistics sound a little more complex this tour. I can't believe you are ten days out. Tail Winds.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Scott AndersonTo Patrick O'HaraJust the packing, and considering how to manage nine months on the road. Nothing as complex as planning for Croatia last year during th3 height of Covid. I went back and reread that lately and was reminded about how stressful that was. Now THAT was complex! Looking back now, I’m pretty proud that we pulled it off.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago