Why? - Overnight to Warburton with Dave - CycleBlaze

Why?

I had not intended to record this ride as it was a single night and not camping but Kelly convinced me to do so. (see guestbook of my previous posting)

Up until about a year ago I used to ride tandem regularly with Dave who had suffered a gradual loss of vision while working and living in Darwin.

(More about Dave http://rainbowsandsmiles.com/ )

He decided that there were better support facilities in Melbourne and moved from Darwin. However he did not enjoy the Melbourne winters and decided to move to Queensland where he has a number of friends. We correspond regularly by email which he is able to read using special hardware and software which magnify the words. He has about 7% vision. Anyway he emailed me a few months ago saying that he was planning a holiday in Melbourne because Vision Australia were running their annual overnight tandem ride to Warburton which he had ridden several times when living in Melbourne and would I like to be his front rider.

I signed on the dotted line and recorded the dates in my diary.Then I received another email from a distraught Dave advising that Vision Australia had had to cancel due to not being able to find enough volunteers.

So I thought this is just another overnight ride and all I need is a tandem so I spoke to fellow KBTC members John and Maureen enquiring whether we would be able to borrow their tandem for the weekend and discovered that as Maureen would be having a hip replacement about that time they would not be requiring it. Mary my dear wife of 40 years next month agreed to drive the support car so I emailed Dave and told him of the arrangements.When he arrived in Melbourne we visited John and Maureen and while we set ourselves up on the tandem John took Queenie, Dave's guide dog and Bella, John and Maureen's dog for a walk. Bella is a small dog and rides in a basket on the rear rack of the tandem when John and Maureen ride.

John and Maureen with Bella on John's single bike
Heart 0 Comment 0

John delivered the tandem inside his (minute by American standards) RV to Dave's sister's home on the Friday ready for us to roll on Saturday morning.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0