Day 32: Gold Coast to Loganholme - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

March 18, 2021

Day 32: Gold Coast to Loganholme

Start: 8:20am
Distance: 54kms
Ride time: 3:10hrs
Average: 17km/hr
Max: 50km/hr 
Finish: 2pm

It rained overnight but not during the day.
The day was overcast and a little sunny at times. 

I had another cafe breakfast. It was nice but not up to my usual high standards lately, so no photo. It was in a suburb called Labrador. What a great name.

I left the Gold Coast on easy cycling suburban roads.
Heart 1 Comment 0
I passed several marinas with big houses and big boats dockside.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I wonder if these people still ride bicycles?

I felt like a rich person staying in last night's caravan park. I'm definitely not as wealthy as these people!

I rode past the Dream World theme park. This is the Giant Drop ride. I went on it a long time ago. I wouldn't like to go on it these days. I'm too much of a wuss.
Heart 1 Comment 0

You fall 115 metres and are stopped by rare-earth magnets.

Giant Drop.

I never had to ride on the noisy motor way today. I was on boring but easy cycling secondary roads.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Sometimes my road came close to the motor way and it was very busy. I could smell the disgusting exhaust fumes from 50 metres away. Bikes aren't allowed on this section of the motor way.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I didn't stop much on the ride today as there were no pretty parks or anywhere nice.

There is an insanely massive hyperdome shopping centre near tonight's caravan park. I stopped there to enjoy the aircon and some lunch and bought some stuff for dinner.

It was interesting walking around in my smelly, salty, sweat-stained clothes. People conveniently moved out of my path.

I checked in to the Galaxy Caravan Park and put up my tent to dry. They didn't have any grassed sites available so I have a gravel bed tonight. 

$29
Heart 1 Comment 0

The park had some nice corrugated iron garden artwork.

Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 1
Rita McCarthyLove this one. Very clever!
Reply to this comment
3 years ago

Today's ride: 54 km (34 miles)
Total: 1,608 km (999 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0