Day 18: Uralla to Armidale - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

March 4, 2021

Day 18: Uralla to Armidale

Start: 9:30am
Distance: 36kms
Ride time: 2:30hrs
Average: 14km/hr
Max: 49km/hr 
Finish: 2:00pm

I took my time this morning knowing I only had a short distance to cover. 

1909
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
I went to a cafe and enjoyed a yummy breakfast for an hour before hitting the road.
Heart 4 Comment 0
A high point.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Morning view.
Heart 3 Comment 0

Before long I arrived in Armidale. I went to the Aboriginal Cultural Centre and Keeping Place. It was small and filled with many school children which made it difficult to look at things. It's great that kids are learning about the culture so I'm not complaining. 

Aboriginal groups. I'm currently in Anēwan country, not listed on this map.
Heart 2 Comment 0

I bought some food supplies in town then checked into the caravan park. 

And saw this happy kitty sunbaking in a cabin window.
Heart 4 Comment 0
I set up the tent. $25
Heart 2 Comment 0
Charged all my devices in the camp kitchen. It's handy having a 4 usb charger.
Heart 3 Comment 0
And had a shower with this little guy. He is about 8cm long. I have a frog ID app and I still couldn't ID him.
Heart 2 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltA tree frog for sure.

Might be Peron's tree frog.

https://portal.frogid.net.au/frogs/litoria-peronii

Hard to tell for sure, but distribution and according to their description and some photos it seems to fit.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Vince McCarthyThanks heaps Bill. I concur with your ID. cheers
Reply to this comment
3 years ago

Bill later identified this as a Peron's tree frog. Thanks Bill. 

I won't have phone reception tomorrow night so I'll update the blog when I can.

Today's ride: 36 km (22 miles)
Total: 929 km (577 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Graham SmithHi Vince,

If you ride through Guyra, see if you can find David Mills.
Bike shop owner, tireless rail trail advocate and very knowledgeable of the local cycle touring routes.

Dave is one of the organisers of Tour d Rocks. They ride from Armidale to the coast.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Vince McCarthyThank you Graham but I've turned east heading for the coast now so I won't catch him.
It would have been nice as I'm having some trouble with my belt today.
Cheers
Reply to this comment
3 years ago