Day 143: Adelaide River to bush camp - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

July 2, 2021

Day 143: Adelaide River to bush camp

Start: 8:05am
Distance: 50kms
Ride time: 3:49hrs
Average: 13km/hr
Max: 28km/hr 
Finish: 4:50pm
Temp: 18-33C

Morning pic.
Heart 5 Comment 0

Note the streamers are blowing the wrong way.

This pretty jabiru or black-necked stork was near a small lagoon.
Heart 5 Comment 0
The headwind got stronger quickly.
Heart 2 Comment 0

I don't cope well with headwinds on hot days. It drained my energy. I pedalled and pedalled and felt like I wasn't making any progress. I feel healthier than a couple days ago but perhaps I'm still a little unwell.

I stopped often and had electrolytes. 

These are red-tailed black cockatoos foraging in the grass. There was about 100 of them.
Heart 6 Comment 0
This is an empty cattle truck returning from Darwin.
Heart 5 Comment 1

It still smelled like cow poo.

I saw this tiny zornia when I was having a rest.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Tree pic.
Heart 5 Comment 0

After 30kms I stopped at the Bridge Creek Rest Area. There is a water tank, toilets and tables here.

It was midday and I was a little exhausted. 

I had a yummy snack.
Heart 5 Comment 0

And kicked off my shoes and got my pillow out.

And had a little snooze on the cool concrete bench.
Heart 6 Comment 0

When you're tired it's easy to be comfortable on anything. I did this for 3.5 hours with breaks to eat and drink.

An old leathery man walked by me to get to the water tank.

He said: "Ya not f#ckin' dead yet?" 

I said: "Sorry?"

He said: "Ridin that thing around. You're doing it the f#ckin hard way."

I assured him I was still alive.

Only an Aussie would start a conversation like that. 

This black kite was circling overhead.
Heart 6 Comment 0

I considered staying here the night. That would leave me 80kms tomorrow to get to Pine Creek. It would be tough for me to do that distance if I have another big headwind.

At 3pm I hit the highway again. The headwind was still present. I took my time and pedalled another 20kms.

This burnoff was still smouldering.
Heart 3 Comment 0

There weren't any side roads so I found a grassy spot next to a cutting to set up camp.

I'm closer to the road than is ideal. I'll use ear plugs and hope there's not much traffic. 

Free!
Heart 6 Comment 0
While sitting on the ground I spotted a tiny orchid.
Heart 6 Comment 0
This pigeon was walking in and out of the thick grass.
Heart 3 Comment 0

It's a bar-shouldered dove.

Today's ride: 50 km (31 miles)
Total: 6,803 km (4,225 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0