Day 126: King River to Katherine - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

June 16, 2021

Day 126: King River to Katherine

Start: 7:40am
Distance: 59kms
Ride time: 3:07hrs
Average: 19km/hr
Max: 29km/hr 
Finish: 12pm

It was a warm night of 18C. Lots of caravans stayed the night here, maybe 15 of them.

Today's tree pic.
Heart 5 Comment 0
This pretty yellow flower stood out against the surrounding foliage.
Heart 6 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltI agree with your ID. Interesting stuff I find digging around the internet! Taste the flowers and let us know what you think.

https://www.katherinetimes.com.au/story/6342649/yellow-kapok-has-many-uses/
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyHi Bill,
Great find! I definitely be tasting it when I see it next. I love the idea of bush foods. Sadly I don't know enough about them.
Stay tuned...
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

I think it's a cochlospermum.

About 8kms from Katherine this bike path appeared.
Heart 6 Comment 0

I followed it for 4kms and then it just ended.

Today's second tree pic.
Heart 8 Comment 0
I made it!
Heart 8 Comment 0

Katherine is the biggest town since Cairns, about 2,000kms ago.

I was excited to arrive here. Excited for all of the food I will eat. I wasn't excited about all of the traffic. 

The information centre had a line of 20 people waiting to be served. 

The town was filled with caravans and a few road trains went thundering down the main street. 

Second stop was a cafe where I had healthy stuff on toast and a big caramel milkshake.
Heart 5 Comment 0

I checked in to the Boab Caravan Park. They had a full occupancy and took pity on me because I looked like a desperate hobo. They told me to put my tent up behind a couple of vans.

$15.
Heart 6 Comment 0

They didn't give me a discount for not taking up a proper site. I will stay here two nights to eat and eat.

For the first time since Cairns I put my dirty clothes in a washing machine with soap. Very civilised of me.

It was 35C so there was no trouble drying the clothes.

There was another bowerbird nest here.

This guy liked collecting pebbles and white bottle tops.
Heart 7 Comment 0

I watched the bowerbird move bits and pieces around and clear away a few leaves that fell too close to his nest. I couldn't get a good pic.

The park receptionist advised me to book all my accommodation on the way to Darwin as it is high tourist season.

I don't like this as it means I have to keep to a schedule. Although it is a prudent thing to do so I made a couple of calls.

Three places accepted a booking. One doesn't take bookings, first to arrive gets a spot. And I think I will have to free camp on three occasions. 

I went to Woolworths and paid $150 for 1 bag of tinned stuff, dried fruit, nuts, and muesli etc. I will return there tomorrow and buy fresh fruit. It was very busy, at least 40 people were lined up at the checkouts. 

I went to the local golf club for a healthy dinner of barra and green stuff.
Heart 8 Comment 0

Today's ride: 59 km (37 miles)
Total: 6,169 km (3,831 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 6
Dave ErtelTry putting a red flower in the field of green and white of the bower's pile. Then sit quietly and wait for him to come back and move it out. You'll get a photo and see just how clever these guys are.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Bill ShaneyfeltI really appreciate how you post such quality nature photos, and also include IDs! You are in a class by yourself!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Rita McCarthyBest wishes on your next leg of the trip, hope the Grey nomads leave enough room for you.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyThanks Dave, that's a great idea. No red flowers about but I did get a photo today anyway.
Cheers
Vince
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyThanks mate, I appreciate your time and assistance too!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyThank you Rita 😘
Reply to this comment
2 years ago