Day 099 - East Glacier to West Glacier - Two Far 2023 - Oranges to Apples - CycleBlaze

July 23, 2023

Day 099 - East Glacier to West Glacier

Heart 0 Comment 0

I'm finally in the mountains.  Physically, today's ride was easy.  In fact, I dropped almost 2000 feet in elevation - what took me days to achieve, disappeared in a few hours.  In addition, the wind died down to almost nothing, which made things even easier.

The scenery was spectacular but, unfortunately, I could not get many photos due to road conditions.  US-2 was very busy, with lots of RV's and pickups pulling boats, and there were long stretches where there was no shoulder.   There were many places that I would have liked to stop for a photo, but it just wasn't safe to do so.

The drivers also seemed impatient today, in that I had a few people yell at me and many more blew their horns.  I probably encountered more rude drivers today than in all other days of the trip combined.   However, I kept my cool and did not offer any 1-fingered salutes, as I am wont to do.

Long trestle just west of East Glacier.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Marias Pass Obelisk at the Summit Rest Area / Campground
Heart 1 Comment 0
John F Stevens Memorial. He was the Great Northern engineer who found the route across the Continental Divide.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
The limestone band was very visible.
Heart 1 Comment 0
I saw several trains snaking through the mountains. In a couple of places, I saw trains going through snow sheds, but could not stop to get a photo. However, it was a very cool sight.
Heart 1 Comment 0
To the south of US-2 most of the mountain peaks are below the tree line. North of US-2 most of the peaks are above the tree line.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Silver Staircase Waterfall. Not much water was flowing at this time of year.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Fishing and boating on Bear Creek.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Middle Fork Flathead River, just west of Essex.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 56 miles (90 km)
Total: 4,712 miles (7,583 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Rich FrasierIt’s such a drag that you have to put up with rude drivers. Congratulations on keeping your cool. I probably would not have!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago