Day 116: Picton, ON - Two Far 2017 - Florida to the Canadian Maritimes - CycleBlaze

August 21, 2017

Day 116: Picton, ON

We were very lazy today. Kerry talked about taking a ride around the area, but I just wasn't up for it. I think I'm having an "end of the trip" mentality setting in. I need to keep reminding myself that we still have plenty of fun things to see and do before this adventure is over.

This was a nice view to have on a lazy day.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Downtown Picton is just around the corner from our hotel. It's a nice town with lots of shops and restaurants. We took a long walk all over town, had a mediocre lunch followed by a good McDonald's dessert and came back to our room.

Picton downtown street
Heart 0 Comment 0
Library
Heart 0 Comment 0
Theater
Heart 0 Comment 0

The solar eclipse was about 60% here, I think. We didn't do anything to watch it. It seemed a little less sunny for a short time, but it really wasn't very noticeable just being outside.

We've decided to stay here another day. The forecast is for probable strong thunderstorms with potentially damaging winds tomorrow afternoon. That's not a chance we want to take. If it does turn out to be OK for cycling, there are some good places to ride locally. (Those would be the places I wimped out on today.) The rest of this week looks great. It will be much more fun to ride when I'm not worried about the weather.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0