Amado - Patagonia, AZ - Tucson Area Thanksgiving Tour 2020 - CycleBlaze

November 23, 2020

Amado - Patagonia, AZ

Heart 0 Comment 0

44 miles

2,206 feet elevation gain

I think Hank is a man like Jacinto, he would rather sip his coffee slowly and contemplate the day, easing into his schedule. But, he would also like to ride with me! I'm not a fan of wind. Hank says wind doesn't bother him on the recumbent. 20 mph wind bothers me. I lobbied for an early start. Hank look pained. I asked him what time he would start if he didn't have a companion. I didn't get a straight answer to that, but when forced, Hank suggested 8 or 9. We ended up agreeing on 8 AM. Hank allows that he wakes up early, but wants to savor the day. He and I were both down at the dining room at 6:30. Hank pronounced the breakfast sandwiches better than average and the burritos less than average. I had yogurt, oatmeal, hard boiled eggs, milk, and a banana. It wasn't the omelet we had last visit, but at least breakfast was provided.

Jacinto was hardly stirring when I went back to the room. He wanted coffee and wanted the B&B people to make it - not the coffee in the room. I was pretty sure he needed to make that coffee. Hank offered some of his deluxe coffee from home, pour over style. He had even brought Jacinto his own little container of coffee and coffee filters. No, Jacinto is stubborn. He likes what he likes, but he didn't bring his percolator this trip - leaving him at the mercy of the road.

I squeezed all of the bike tires. They were good to go. It was 48 degrees outside, which felt cool until we got in the sun. I put my Earbag brand ear warmers on as a concession to the 'cold'. It felt mighty fine compared to Colorado!

Three miles down the frontage road, we had to merge onto the interstate to pass a Border Patrol check point. It was only a check point heading north, but we were on the interstate anyway for a mile. Then back to the frontage road. Hank stopped to look for his chapstick and told me to continue, he would catch up.

I turned on the music and pedaled town the road. It was a fine day to be riding! There was a little traffic around Tubac. That's where the Backroads Bicycle riders were staying, I think. But I didn't see a sign of them all day. There was little traffic and what there was went around politely.

I saw only 3-4 Border Patrol vehicles all day, fewer than previous visits.

I kept watching my rear view mirror for Hank. I knew if I stopped for a bush stop, he would be sure to catch me at an inopportune moment. Finally, I had to stop anyway. No Hank. Odd. I'm not a fast rider and I had been enjoying the morning, not pedaling especially fast. We had a long, long climb all day. Today was a day for slow but sure riding.

I kept going, pleased that I was fast enough to stay ahead. At mile 20, I took a left to Pendleton Road, crossing the Santa Cruz River and a set of railroad tracks. Hank had driven the entire route last week. He caught my navigation error at the Mission yesterday straight away. Hmm . . . should I wait for him at this intersection? I decided he knew the route better from memory than I did using the GPS, plus, Hank also had a map. I went another mile, and gave in to my concern and texted him. Hank was one mile behind me, but stopped by a train. I was sure he would soon catch me. Pendleton Road was all rollers. Some of them were quite large. I'm not a fan of rolling climbs. I took a couple of Anti Fatigue Capsules and also a Perpetuum tablet. Something out of that combination perked me right up. I rode ten miles of rollers just fine. Look at me go! I saw a couple of road bike riders, out getting their climbing fix.

How odd that Hank had not caught me. I kept watching and watching. I'm not a fast climber . . . . Pendleton gave way to E. Ruby Road. I had to stop at the intersection of Frontera for a photo with the plywood cow that I remembered from my trip with Spoon. Surely Hank would catch me here? No . . . .

At mile 30 I was to the intersection of Highway 82. I texted Hank. He was lost. I texted back asking if he had his map, to make his way back to Pendleton. No reply.

I knew that I topped out on the climb at mile 37, then there was a nice downhill into Patagonia. I was ready for the reward to the climb. It had been a long climbing day. Nothing was too steep or too difficult, but I did find myself checking my tires once, sure that I had a flat tire.

It is interesting to ride a road going each direction. We rode this route in 2017 with Spoon and crew. This year we are going into Patagonia. The canyon was much more scenic this way. I enjoyed looking at the sun on the rock walls.

Traffic was notably light all day. Especially in the area of Ruby/Frontera, where I remembered local truck traffic in 2017. I wonder if businesses are taking the week off because of Thanksgiving? Hopefully they aren't out of business . . but I did appreciate having space to ride. Those roads didn't have any shoulder. Highway 82 had a nice shoulder, except through the canyon. Traffic was no issue.

I looked left and right riding into Patagonia, to see what I recognized. It's not a large town, but it is artsy with fun decorations and cool little shops. There is one place to stay, the Stage Stop Inn. The lobby still had floor tiles with cattle brands and chairs made of cowhide, complete with fur The legs were of cow horns.

I checked in, did the getting to town things, and gathered the computer to go wait outside for the guys. I turned the corner and there was Jacinto, just walking in. I asked if he had passed Hank. No, he hadn't seen Hank. I tried to text again, but there's no cell service at all close to turn.

Who would think stopping for chapstick would result in an all day separation? I've been sitting outside typing this, waiting. I will have to fill you in when I can.

We are eating dinner at the attached restaurant. I asked the check in lady what is good. She enthusiastically replied, "Everything!" She is also the cook and had to hurry off. I hope she didn't leave anything on the stove while we were talking . . .

Of note, she took a generous handful of sanitizer and ran the pen through her handful of sanitizer before handing it too me. It was wet and gloppy and my signature smeared all over. But it was clean!

Hank just answered - he's five miles out of town. I'm surprised he had service. I will get the whole story soon.

Hank's story - he was so close behind me at the train tracks he could see my tail lights. When he got to the all important intersection on Pendleton, he went left. The road was good to start, then deteriorated some. But it wasn't too bad. By the time Hank figured out he was going the wrong direction, it was quite a distance. He pulled up google maps and thought he could keep going and get to Patagonia. At this point, the road was gravel and Hank was traveling at 6 mph. Hank met a rancher down by the road. The rancher said it was so rough past his house that delivery trucks won't go there, so he has to wait for them. The rancher said the road does go on to Patagonia, but it is a rough jeep track. It was a rough moment when Hank turned around, after a hard won ten miles. Giving him twenty bonus miles. Hank ran out of water five miles from town and didn't really reply when I asked if the (now) strong tailwind had helped him out. He and Jacinto walked over the the grocery for drinks. Hank drank his chocolate milk before Jacinto even finished paying. He was ready for dinner at any moment. When would we like to go?

We ended up at the Wild Horse Restaurant, attached to the motel. It was acceptably good.

We are having breakfast at the coffee shop down the street when they open at 7:30. Tomorrow is 51 miles, heading east. Wind is from the west. I will say nothing else for fear of jinxing us.

As we came home from dinner last night, Hank worried about javalinas coming in the open door. It must not be a problem? The house was quiet and empty, with the door still open this morning.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Our breakfast was a far sight from the custom omelets we ate the last time we were here. COVID
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bicycle parking. Outdoor parking as never felt more secure.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Businesses are for sale all over the country. These are hard times.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I was nose to spine during my first bush stop. I was careful not to lean too far forward!
Heart 0 Comment 0
It's not the same as riding through an aspen grove, but there was plenty of green on both sides of the road early this morning.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I think these are broom plants in flower? Bill? They are about six feet tall, but look similar to broom plants we had in our landscaping.Bill thinks rabbit brush. It's a different variety than what we have in Colorado, much taller, and with white flowers.
Heart 0 Comment 0
There were several fences of this style around Nogales.
Heart 0 Comment 0
All I can think of is a giant mutant artichoke.Bill says a type of agave, perhaps Palmer's.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Pendleton Road was full of giant rollers. This one was a doozy.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The cow at the corner of E. Ruby Road and Frontera Road is still there! She's a little worse for the wear in three years.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Scenery on Highway 82 heading north (roughly) to Patagonia.
Heart 0 Comment 0
During the last ten miles to Patagonia, these started showing up.Bill says desert agave.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Going down into the canyon just before Patagonia.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Two miles before town, I gave out. I pulled off the road here and ate some salted cashews.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
As seen in the motel lobby. I think it’s a one of a kind.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Hank arrived with a wild tale of wrong turns, gravel roads, and roads so steep that delivery trucks can’t proceed.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The guys have lots of beverages, but no beer.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 44 miles (71 km)
Total: 120 miles (193 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0